Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Videowave Stabilization Settings Don't Appear

stabilization videowave

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Kamm

Dave Kamm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 January 2014 - 08:47 PM

Hi all, I have worked with Videowave before but not in depth. I am just now starting to work with a number of home videos. I noticed that in the latest version, NXT Pro 2, that stabilization and rotation were available so I upgraded from the 2010 version. In any tutorial I find it clearly tells me how to add the stabilization and then double click on the "stabilize video" in the timeline to get to the settings. So, when I do that I get nothing. Not sure if this is related, but if I close the Media selector, Effect selector, and Settings in the top right portion of the Videowave window and then double click the "stabilize video" in the timeline the settings window appears but says "There are no settings available for this object." In the tutorials the settings show up in a totally separate window like what happens if you double click on the video in the timeline. I saw in online help under stabilization: "Note: Depending on the software version you are running, some of the features described above may not be available. For information about upgrading to take full advantage of all the features described in the online Help" but I assume the newest pro version would have this feature. It is a 16:9 production, not 3D. Can anyone shed any light on this? Thank you in advance!!!

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,359 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 08 January 2014 - 05:39 AM

Go here (link) and scroll down to video stabilization and watch the tutorial. Is that the process you used?

There are several things that you have to remember:

1) The stabilization works only like a zoom so depending on how much you stabilize, you will lose some of the edges of the video . Note all programs with stabilization work this way.
2) It is not a cure all; it reduces the shakiness but it will not eliminate all of it (see 1 above)
3) Make sure that the effect extends for the entire duration of the area you want to fix. It usually shows up in the timeline for a short period (10 seconds/), you can select that track, place you cursor over the end and in the center part until you get a double headed arrow and drag it to the right (or left).
4) You have to be running the program at high enough resolution to display the setting window.
5) You have to make sure that the video clip section is selected. There should be a box and color change on the selected section. If you don;t have the selection, you can't do anything.

Let us know if any of the above helps.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#3 Dave Kamm

Dave Kamm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:34 PM

sknis, thanks for your reply. The link you provided was the tutorial that I watched. I will attach a screen shot of the window that I don't get when I double click on the stabilization in the timeline. As far as the rest of your points 1,2, &3 I understand and have done. 4 I am running at 1920x1080 so I would assume that is plenty. 5 I am not real clear about what you mean by "make sure that the video clip section is selected" but I think I have done that. When I choose stabilize to begin with I see the FX1 track appear and also see an orange section appear under the preview image pane which I can then adjust to the whole image or just part of it. But no matter what I do, when I double click on the stabilization track in the timeline like is done in the tutorial I get no settings window (see attached file for what should happen according to the tutorial) Note the position of the hand mouse pointer is where I am double clicking.

I also have tried uninstalling all the Roxio programs as I did have 2010 installed originally. Then I re-installed just the NXT Pro 2 version and tried again with the same results. I also tried a 4:3 production just out of curiosity.

Any other ideas?

Attached Files



#4 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,359 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:50 AM

Unfortunately you didn't show that the video track was selected (in the background). I see music and the FX1 track. What do you have in the timeline above the Music track? Is that selected (it doesn;t look like it).

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,453 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:25 AM

Is 2 out of 3 OK???

I get the Settings as I would expect with Creator 2011 and with NXT, But NOT with NXT 2 Pro :huh:

So we are on the same base - the video does not have to be selected. If you click on "Stabilize Video" in the Fix section, it will be inserted on the Fx1 Track at the location of the scrubber! (Fx2 is something is already there)

If you click on the Stabilize Video effect, and the Settings window or tab is open, it is supposed to show the settings for that as Dave indicated with his picture from the Tutorial in Post #3... It does NOT in NXT 2 Pro!

Attached File  Stabilize Missing.jpg   170.17KB   0 downloads


Please try it and see if it does work on any others???

#6 Dave Kamm

Dave Kamm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 January 2014 - 04:04 PM

I went back and looked at the tutorial (which is where I got the image from) and it appears that the author scrolls the timeline down right before he double clicks the Stabilize Video in the timeline which is why you don't see the video track selected, but it is selected. I went back and double checked what I am doing and I definitely have it selected as it has a blue dot. That is what you mean correct? It sounds like Jim is confirming that it doesn't work in NXT Pro 2. I guess maybe a call to support is in order if no one happens to know the answer. Other than the NXT Pro 2 I only have 2009 & 2010 which didn't have the stabilization feature I don't believe.

#7 Hansalla

Hansalla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 February 2014 - 04:44 AM

I have exactly the same issue in Roxio Creator NXT Pro 2. The stabilization settings do not appear when double click on the effect. Any solution?
  • Steve76063 likes this

#8 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,453 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 February 2014 - 05:06 AM

NO -_-

#9 BrianR

BrianR

    Novice

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 26 May 2014 - 09:05 PM

Jim, has there been any update on the video stabilization issue? It doesn't work in my NXT 2 Pro, and I only have partial success with NXT Pro.

As you can see in the screenshot, I do not have a Picture Quality field - only stringRef.Names.Locked. Any experience with this?

Brian

Attached Files


Brian

Dell Studio XPS 435T, Intel Core i7-920 processor (8MB L3 Cache 2.66GHz)
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit Edition
8GB DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz
512MB ATI Radeon HD 4850
(3) 1TB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drives 7200 RPM
6X Blu-Ray Writer and 16X DVD+/-RW
Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium

#10 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,453 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 May 2014 - 04:37 AM

No, nothing has changed :(

If you click the red stars(?) in the Settings, what happens?

#11 BrianR

BrianR

    Novice

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 27 May 2014 - 08:25 PM

I get Key Frames - greyed out as follows:
Brian

Dell Studio XPS 435T, Intel Core i7-920 processor (8MB L3 Cache 2.66GHz)
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit Edition
8GB DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz
512MB ATI Radeon HD 4850
(3) 1TB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drives 7200 RPM
6X Blu-Ray Writer and 16X DVD+/-RW
Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium

#12 BrianR

BrianR

    Novice

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 27 May 2014 - 08:29 PM

I get Key Frames - greyed out as follows:

Attached Files


Brian

Dell Studio XPS 435T, Intel Core i7-920 processor (8MB L3 Cache 2.66GHz)
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit Edition
8GB DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz
512MB ATI Radeon HD 4850
(3) 1TB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drives 7200 RPM
6X Blu-Ray Writer and 16X DVD+/-RW
Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium

#13 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,453 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 May 2014 - 08:34 AM

Thanks for trying - I don't have NXT installed anywhere right now and was hoping that might help :huh:

#14 mzettler

mzettler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 July 2014 - 08:47 PM

I just spent more money upgrading from NXT to NXT Pro so I would have access to these stabilization options, but they don't appear.
NXT did not have these stabilization options, and based on the "Note:" at the bottom of this stabilizing video help page I decided I must need to get NXT Pro to get these options.
Note: Depending on the software version you are running, some of the features described above may not be available. For information about upgrading to take full advantage of all the features described in the online Help, visit www.roxio.com.
The NXT Pro marketing page linked to the video on how to set these options, so I bought Pro.
After further investigation, I think in fact both versions are the same, and neither have these options, but perhaps should?
The "why to upgrade to NXT Pro" page suggests stabilization options are the same:
Stabilize shaky videos shot with cell phones, digital cameras and other handheld devices NXT NXTPRO
I'm quite disappointed that this bug exists, and that I was mislead on functionality, and I will cancel my order.

Edited by mzettler, 05 July 2014 - 10:08 PM.


#15 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,359 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 06 July 2014 - 03:39 AM

Hi mzettler. Welcome to the forum.

Yes the base programs are the same in NXT and NXT Pro; what is different are the add-in programs. Some of which are very useful. As discussed above,,for some people there is a problem which will probably never be fixed. I have Creator 2012 Pro on my computer and it works as advertized. - Just remember to read everything with a grain of salt. The people who write the descriptions have probably never even seen the program and they just embellish to make it sound better without crossing the line of non-existant features.

A couple of comments

1) Stabilize video just zooms in on the video so you may lose the edges.(That is the way almost all of them work except for a few high priced video stabilizers)
2) They only work with slightly shaky video something like a shaky pan or small vibrations like riding a bus. They do not work well with a person jogging, trying to use a cell phone for video, etc.
3) When you are working in Video Wave do you have the stabilize video button on the left? When you press it does a effects (fx) track appear with the stabilization on it. Remember that you have to move/stretch it to cover that part of the video that needs to be stabilized. Once you have applied the stabilization you then need to select setting and you should get just a couple of options for the stabilization.
4) The controls that people are looking for are the amount of stabilization (read zoom amount). or are for other functions of the editor (see edit below).

As I said above, there are other programs that will do a better job of stabilizing video. When you cancel your order and with the above knowledge and with very shaky videos, look for a standalone program like this (link). I have not used it but I have used other programs from this developer. There is a 14 day trial. I think that the price is reasonable should you decide to buy it.

Edit: The program does not have the ability to do key frames and that is why that is greyed out. Perhaps it was something that the engineers wanted to do but were no able to. Look in the help files and there is nothing there. You can sort of do some key framing with pan and zoom.

Edited by sknis, 06 July 2014 - 03:54 AM.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#16 mzettler

mzettler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2014 - 06:24 AM

Thanks for the quick response sknis!

To be clear I am referring to Roxio Creator NXT2 and Roxio Creator NXT 2 Pro

1) I was expecting/willing to give up some edge real estate to stabilize the clip
2) Even with a short test clip, I can't be sure the stabilization algorithm is doing anything.
3) Yes the stabilize video option is available on the left side of the interface, and the effect does show up in FX1 line at bottom, just as shown here:
http://img.roxio.com...ting-video.html
It seams this tutorial is for creator 2001, but has been linked to Roxio Creator NXT 2 and NXT2 Pro.
Somebody in sales/marketing messed up here.
Everything works the same, except double-clicking in the FX gives an empty settings dialog.
4) I was hoping to gain access to the stabilize video setting: stabilize rotation, type, picture quality, and zoom level

I will give the tool you recommend (NewBlue Stabilizer plugin) a try via 14-day trial.
Do you know if they are partnered with Roxio/Corel?
If they are, I am unlikely to purchase, for obvious reasons.

Cheers

#17 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,359 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 06 July 2014 - 06:31 AM

Ignore what I said above re: stabilization and options It worked in Creator 2013 but not in NXt2 Pro.
  • Steve76063 likes this

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#18 mzettler

mzettler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2014 - 06:40 AM

I guess I am now waiting to be contacted by someone from Roxio/Corel to make this right.
Otherwise I will need to cancel my order of NXT 2 Pro :-(

#19 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,359 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 06 July 2014 - 06:51 AM

Don;t wait for them ! You need to be proactive in cancelling your order with he company you placed your order. Do it now !

I was playing around with the pan and zoom editor since that is basically what the stabilizer does. I don't have a video where it would show. You might try that or you could try posting a 5 second video to an online sharing site so we can play with it. You can zoom in just a couple of percent to see if it does anything for you.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#20 mzettler

mzettler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2014 - 10:59 AM

Zooming in does not seem to make any difference.

And after installing the other stabilizer as a trial, it does not seem to be avail in roxio videowave.
There are no installation instructions on the "Corel Video Studio** X3+" compatibility.
Have you installed this tool into NXT Pro?
I am asked where to install, and have tried several obvious choices in Roxio disk tree, but to no avail.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users