Mark_F

Customized Menu Theme Not On Finished Blu-Ray

Question

I'll admit I'm new to the 'Mac world' and so far in the first 4 months all I've experienced is frustration on top of frustration. My favorite PC video editor isn't available for OS-X, I didn't like iMovie and so went with what 'everybody' raved about, Final Cut Pro X. Well frankly, if a family member had not purchased it for me for a Christmas present I would have asked for my money back.

Whatever, I suffered through enough FCPX 'test' projects to the point I was ready to start burning them onto Blu-ray discs.

And again, the majority of folks told me to go with Toast, so here I am.

Project #1:

- I added thirty .mp4 movies from my GoPro 3+ into the project

- I trimmed as needed for best flow (all videos were shot in sequence during the same event)

- I selected automatic chapters every 10 minutes

- I selected the 'Cobblestone' menu option

- I customized it with a background image more relevant to the theme of the movie

- Then I burned it to Blu-ray

Result: Worked out great, everything worked including chapters. My biggest complaint was the awful text on the menu. For a full 1080 HD video and the text is blocky with no dithering or smoothing... that is tacky!

Ok, now to the issue on which I'm seeking resolution:

Project #2 - TAKE ONE:

- This time, since I wanted to add an intro with on-screen text along with some fades between clips I decided to go ahead and use Final Cut Pro X.

- I created a movie including Chapters and 'shared' it as a .mov Master File, the only option. :-[ NOT a smiley!

- I added the full 90 minute .mov file as one into Toast

- I selected automatic chapters using the pre-marked chapters

- I selected the 'Cobblestone' menu option as in Project #1

- I customized it with the same background image as in Project #1

Result: Movie plays fine but it did not use the 'Cobblestone' menu or my custom background. :-[ Again, NOT a smiley!