Jump to content

Roxio Community

Digital Media Network


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Keith R

Keith R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 September 2006 - 03:34 PM

:) In early August I purchased online 6 months access to the Sonic "Digital Media Network" service which is supposed to deliver additional My DVD Theme menus and add-on's.   There was a temporary web site at www.digitalmedianetwork.sonic.com as recent as last month, but this site has now closed.  The product is still advertised on the Sonic web site as a purchasable service - BUT IT DOES NOT EXIST.  I have spent the last month sending emails to countless Sonic & Roxio service and support contacts all to no avail. Their stock in trade respose "we cannot help you with this product".  Either somebody at Roxio has falsly promoted this product and it has been withdrawn - or it has been relaunched but somebody forgot to tell the user community.  This smacks of a SCAM but I am surprised that this comes from a reputable company.

Does anybody out there know what is happening.  I am frustrated and angry that Roxio took my money but now refuses to help sort this out.

#2 ggrussell

ggrussell

    Digital Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,581 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 September 2006 - 06:04 PM

You need to contact Sonic.   Although Roxio merged with Sonic, you're talking about a previous Sonic product.
Phenom X4 965 3.4Ghz, 4gig DDR3, LG 47" 3D TV, Hitachi 1TB HD, Seagate 500GB, LiteOn iHBS112 Bluray, TSSTCorp SH-222A DVD, ATI HD3300 IGP, VIA HiDef audio with Logitech Z5500 THX certified 5.1 speakers, Epson 4490 scanner, Canon 9000Pro MarkII printer, Sharp AL1551CS laser printer/copier, Sony TRV740 8mm digital, Canon HV20 HDV camcorder and Fuji S7000 for still photos, Win7 Home Premium
---------
System 2: HP DV7 laptop, Turion II Dual Core 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM, 640GB hard drive, ATI Mobility HD4650, ATI HiDef Audio, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.

Gary Russell
TNUSA

#3 Keith R

Keith R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 September 2006 - 04:25 PM

It's a current product promoted on their Sonic Products page http://www.sonic.com...er/makeDVD.aspx.  And I have tried for a month to get somebody at Sonic or Roxio to answer my emails and advise me where this product is.  You can buy it from this page but as a service it doesn't exit.  Would you be annoyed if you purchased a product from this web site and they failed to supply?

#4 ggrussell

ggrussell

    Digital Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,581 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2006 - 08:31 PM

Yes, but this forum has NOTHING to do with that product and this forum certainly isn't a way to contact anyone that could help.

Edited by ggrussell, 12 September 2006 - 08:32 PM.

Phenom X4 965 3.4Ghz, 4gig DDR3, LG 47" 3D TV, Hitachi 1TB HD, Seagate 500GB, LiteOn iHBS112 Bluray, TSSTCorp SH-222A DVD, ATI HD3300 IGP, VIA HiDef audio with Logitech Z5500 THX certified 5.1 speakers, Epson 4490 scanner, Canon 9000Pro MarkII printer, Sharp AL1551CS laser printer/copier, Sony TRV740 8mm digital, Canon HV20 HDV camcorder and Fuji S7000 for still photos, Win7 Home Premium
---------
System 2: HP DV7 laptop, Turion II Dual Core 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM, 640GB hard drive, ATI Mobility HD4650, ATI HiDef Audio, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.

Gary Russell
TNUSA

#5 Keith R

Keith R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 September 2006 - 04:03 PM

As it's an add-on accessory to Easy Media Creator 8 I presumed that it would be regarded as part of the suite.  I am trying to find out if anyone else has used, or is attempting to use this add-on.  Certainly no-one at Roxio or Sonic is paying attention so I am seeking help from the wider user community.  If this isn't the corrrect forum then can you suggest which one is more appropriate.

#6 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 13 September 2006 - 04:28 PM

View PostKeith R, on Sep 10 2006, 07:34 PM, said:

:) In early August I purchased online 6 months access to the Sonic "Digital Media Network" service which is supposed to deliver additional My DVD Theme menus and add-on's. There was a temporary web site at www.digitalmedianetwork.sonic.com as recent as last month, but this site has now closed. The product is still advertised on the Sonic web site as a purchasable service - BUT IT DOES NOT EXIST. I have spent the last month sending emails to countless Sonic & Roxio service and support contacts all to no avail. Their stock in trade respose "we cannot help you with this product". Either somebody at Roxio has falsly promoted this product and it has been withdrawn - or it has been relaunched but somebody forgot to tell the user community. This smacks of a SCAM but I am surprised that this comes from a reputable company.

Does anybody out there know what is happening. I am frustrated and angry that Roxio took my money but now refuses to help sort this out.


Try  this:   http://www.sonic.com.../contactus.aspx

#7 Keith R

Keith R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 03:53 PM

Roxio/Sonic have finally acknowledged that the product/servcie they were promoting doesn't exist and have refunded my money. End of story - a pity it took so long and so many tortuous paths to finally find someone who could take responsibility for their error.  Anyone thinking of subscribing to their "Digital Media Network" should think twice before paying for a service that doesn't exist.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users