Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by jcmcgowan

  1. barbieri, Wow! I started this thread five years ago and still getting posts! To be honest I have used this since Roxio purchased the program from SilverStar. Jim
  2. Hi folks. Before I open, update, and go through a lot trying to continue creating slideshows and burning them to DVD, I figured it might be prudent to ask a few questions here first. I don’t know but maybe I'll need to contact support. I initially purchased Photoshow Deluxe 4, the DVD Burning add-on, and all available Theme packs three years ago directly from SimpleStar. (Well, actually I first owned the so-called "Elite" version from Nero, which turned out NOT to be very elite at all!) Phtotshow Deluxe 4 worked very well for me, and in Feb. 2007 I upgraded to Photoshow Deluxe 5 and purchased another Theme pack which had been added. So I now own Photoshow Deluxe 5, the DVD Burning add-on, and all Theme packs available. I haven't used the program much, though, since Roxio purchased SimpleStar. Roxio was pushing out unannounced updates and there was no "changes" page where I could see what the update did. At the same time there were several threads from users in similar situations who could no longer burn DVD's with their SimpleStar software. So I decided to just shut it down here and wait to see what was happening with it. Today I received an email from Roxio that said former SimpleStar users had to "renew" their Premium subscriptions. Yikes! I thought at first that the message was that I could no longer use my Photoshow Deluxe unless I paid a ransom to Roxio. Turns out that message is for, I believe, users who had purchased an annual subscription for online features from Simplestar. I never subscribed to that service, so hopefully I am not affected by the renewal notice. What I would like to know is the following: Can I use my current version of Photoshow Deluxe 5 and all the Theme packs along with the DVD Burning Add-on? Without a subscription to Roxio Online? If so, is there any further action I must take to be able to use it? (E.g., different serial number, download anything else?) If not, why not? What is required for me to again use my Photoshow Deluxe 5, DVD Add-on, and Theme Packs? Finally, is a subscription to Roxio Online required in order to use any of the features of Photoshow Deluxe or its add-ons? Nothing against Roxio's annual subscription plan, but I just don’t use the online sharing features; I didn't use them with SimpleStar either. Thanks for any and all assistance you can offer! Jim
  3. Understand, I have no desire to use the Roxio online junk - none at all. All I wanted to do was to continue using Photoshow Deluxe as I always had: Creating slideshows, sending them to family members, posting them online at one of my own web pages. As for Roxio's online subscription, no thanks. Don’t want any part of it. I am just ditching Photoshow altogether. Roxio apparently has messed it up, as they have with most products they have acquired. Jim
  4. Mary Jane, Thank you for this very informative reply. No, no one did explain any of that to me. And that includes the one that replied to me earlier, purporting to know it all about this. He/she said: And you say that I cannot email shows? Nor add more than 24 photos? One of you is wrong, it would seem. I can burn them to DVD - can't imagine why emailing that file wouldn't work. And the limit of 24 photos? I haven't seen that. I'll have to try it again now. I'll post back after I try a few of these things. Thank you. Jim
  5. Photoshow Deluxe 5 was released in February 2007 by SimpleStar, the company that Roxio acquired. If Roxio isn't offering it - and I can't think of any reason that they would considering that they have created a wholly different business model for the software - then it is probably not available anywhere. Hmm... I take that back - looks like a seller at Amazon Marketplace has a boxed version for sale. Though I don’t think you would be able to register it. Jim
  6. Great! Sounds good, malatekid. The reason I stopped for a while was that the situation was in flux during the ownership switch from SimpleStar to Roxio. At that time no one here in the forum seemed to have a decent handle on what was going on, how the software would change, etc. Plus there seemed to be a fair number of users who could no longer burn DVDs after the automatic Updates from Roxio had been applied. As I mentioned in my first post above, rather than fight with it at all, I decided to block the update for the time being until everything shook out; until the future of the application was a little clearer to me. I figured that things had probably been resolved one way or another by now and that I would check in and see whether I still had an excellent slideshow application, or it had been changed beyond what I would care to use. Sounds like all is resolved and I'm good to go! Thanks for the help! Jim
  7. jcmcgowan

    Re: New Website For Making Photoshows On Line

    I don't know if the Photoshow update has any - SimpleStar wasn't into those. That's what I want to know - because Roxio has a penchant for them. Easy Media Creator sure does! Do you have any other Roxio products installed? If so, and you have manually disabled services, then surely you saw them. Jim
  8. jcmcgowan

    Re: New Website For Making Photoshows On Line

    Sorry David, but - no. Not until I know what the update includes. Roxio has a long-standing habit of installing intrusive services on users' computers that run all the time, needlessly taking up both CPU and memory resources. If you would be so kind as to list all of the changes contained in the update, I may reconsider. For example, does it install a new service in Windows? Any process that wants to run all the time in the background? Any "phone home" attributes? Anything that will attempt to open any ports on my computer? Without knowing what it does, I will continue running Photoshow as is. Thanks! Jim fireenhancer, Still doesn't answer any questions for me. What is it that you are trying to tell me with these links? About Vista issues? If so, what makes you think I am running Vista? Should I point you to posts where similar issues are plaguing users running XP? As for the update, see my reply above to David. I do not allow any stealth updates to install on my computers. I purchased the hardware and I will darned well know and approve what is installed on it. No updates without prior knowledge of its existence and exactly what it is - and why it is needed: For my benefit? Or the developer's benefit? Anyone who blindly allows such updates is either not that tech-knowledgeable or doesn't care about the risk involved. Thanks! Jim
  9. jcmcgowan

    Re: New Website For Making Photoshows On Line

    @firenhancer: Not sure why you think that provides any clarity. Just take a look at the first page of this forum; it is filled with users posting of various issues burning DVDs. Both Vista and XP. Also, someone posted about there being a limit to the number of DVDs that can be burned. Never was originally when I purchased my license. Nor was I ever told I would be required to go to their web site in order to create shows, export them, etc. I notice now that as soon as I open Photoshow Deluxe 5 a "required update" tried to install. Oddly though, I have not received any explanation of exactly what that "update" is for, what it consists of. That's not right at all. I refused to download it, but it downloaded anyway. Now it is quarantined, as will all future "updates" that I am not made aware of. Ignorant, to try to force such crap onto my machine! Jim
  10. jcmcgowan

    Re: New Website For Making Photoshows On Line

    Long time registered Photoshow Deluxe user. I haven't tried to burn a DVD with Photoshow recently, and I won't just to test this supposedly new Roxio policy. I will attempt to burn a Photoshow DVD again when I need one. Hopefully it will still work as it always has. I have read through my license (SimpleStar EULA for PhotoShow Deluxe) and it makes no mention whatsoever of a limit to the number of DVDs that are permitted to be burned. The only requirement stated is that the user must have the Home "DVD add-on" and a DVD burner. No other restrictions are mentioned. I have also scanned through the Roxio web site and can find no EULA that supersedes the SimpleStar agreement. If one is released that places restrictions on the software that did not exist at the time of my purchase, then I will request a full refund for the application. Jim
  11. jcmcgowan

    Appreciation When It's Due

    I moderate at a few forums now, and have administered my own in the recent past, so I am familiar with the ups and downs! You do have to remember that most who visit a user or support forum are doing so because they are having a problem of some sort, and they are usually pretty frustrated by the time they arrive. Especially if they have just tried "speaking" with Roxanne! Very few ever visit just to chat. Any venom built up is often directed at whomever tries to direct them in a way that either is not successful for them, or is something they have already tried. So it is often a thankless deed you perform. But it can also be reqarding. Depends on just how well that water runs down your back! And the thickness of your skin. Keep on truckin'!!
  12. jcmcgowan

    Appreciation When It's Due

    Likewise... Thanks to all!
  13. Hello all. I have Roxio Easy Media Creator 8.05 installed, and I use Drag-to-Disc regularly without any problems until today. Upon starting my PC (running Windows XP Pro) I got an error message as follows: "Drag-to-Disc could not start because components necessary to run are missing. Please re-install Drag-to-Disc." I hate when this happens. Now the only thing I recently installed was the latest Google Picasa Beta - the one that has Web albums with it. I installed that the night before, and this was the first time starting the PC since then. So I suspect strongly that this new Picasa version needed to access a common file - most likely a DLL - and could not last night, so this morning it managed to start before Drag-to-Disc did and - again I suspect - grabbed that DLL before D-to-D could. Must be a DLL that hs limited resources, or can only support so many graphic applications. I do have several graphic applications on this PC. So I tried a repair installation of EMC8 via the Add/Remove Programs dialog, but it asked me for the original CD. I do have that available upstairs but I didn't want to do that becasuse that would reinstall 8.00 and I would have to go through the whole darned 8.05 installation again immediately afterward. So instead I reinstalled from the 8.05 patch file. It detected that EMC 8.05 was already installed and did a repair installation - it apparently was able to see that Drag-to-Disc was in trouble because it claimed it repaired it. But after a restart it would not load - I got the same darn error message! I submitted a support request but got the usual frustrating run around from Roxio support. (Can anyone tell me why they almost immediately close support tickets without answering them? It's always the same - you go through all the Ask Roxanne stuff, don't get an answer, and submit the request. Within 15 minutes you get a message saying something like, " Have you tried other Help options?", and the request is now "Closed"!!) Does anyone know what file or resource could have been "removed" or something that Drag-to-Disc was using, that it now cannot access? I know that some shared files, usually dynamic link libraries (DLL's), sometimes have a limited number of programs that they can adequately support. Usually that would give you an error when you install a new application that needs to use it. I am guessing that Picasa needed to use that file and when it couldn't get it last night, it just waited and then managed to start up before Drag-to-Disc and grab that resource. I know that Drag-to-Disc is not a necessary part of EMC8, but I like it and use it frequently. I will gladly get rid of Picasa if necessary to get it working again! I really only use Picasa now as a quick and easy way to send photos via Google's Hello application. Anyone know much about this? I could use any advice you all have, as I don't think I will get much from support. (I just haven't gotten much help from them at all yet.) Thanks!
  14. jcmcgowan

    Drag-To-Disc Cannot Find Resource? Conflict?

    Yes, plus I review all messages filtered to a junk mail folder. This one did get to me, though. My ISP has a spam filter, "enterprise version". Used to be Brightmail but I'm not certain that's what they use now. So that is a possibility. Although I never missed the multitude of promotional messages that Sonic/Roxio occasionally blankets us with! Thanks for the tought, though!
  15. jcmcgowan

    Creator 8 Failure to recognise recordable media

    I have noticed this also - or something similar. If I am preparing to burn an audio CD, and I already have the blank CDR in the drive, EMC8 - the Music Creator - asks me to insert a blank disk. I usually end up removing the CD and then placing it back in the burner when EMC8 asks for it. Then it works. However if I wait to insert the disc till after Roxio tells me to insert the disk, it picks it up right away. It's as if the program doesn't know to look at the CD if it is already in the burning drive when you try to burn. Wasn't always like this. It may be that the 8.05 update caused this, but I cannot remember exactly when it started. It certainly can be bad media. I'm presently looking at a cake stack of 100 Ritek 8X DVD's with about 90 left on the stack. All 10 I have burned thus far will work only on a PC - but not, however on any stand-alone DVD player that I have tried. And I have made literally hundreds of burns using the same type of Ritek media. Ritek had been near perfect for me until this stack. But I tried burns using several different burning applications and the result has been the same. Hone digital video authored DVD's amd movie DVD backups. Doesn't mean that Ritek is bad media; just means that this batch was bad. So I am using these disks only for data files now, as I would only use them on the PC. Happens to the best of 'em!
  16. jcmcgowan

    D2D tale

    Also, for all interested, Google has owned up to a conflict caused by Picasa - versions 2.2 and particularly the latest 2.5 with Web albums. See my post here. It doesn't affect all, but quite a few of us.
  17. jcmcgowan

    Drag-To-Disc Cannot Find Resource? Conflict?

    Hey, thank you for replying to this thread. I am supposedly subscribed to this thread but I received no email messages telling me of the replies. Sorry to have been away so long. Just so you all know, Google has finally confirmed the conflict with EMC8 and the latest Picasa beta. Not publicly, mind you, but in an email message to me. They suggested that I uninstall both applications and then reinstall Roxio - IF I can live without burning CD's/DVD's in Picasa. (They must be kidding - I only had Picasa for the ease of sending photos via Hello. Both are now uninstalled from my PC's - for good). They also claimed that if the above did not fix Drag to Disc, then I had to go through Roxio Support - which, sadly, has never once responded to a support request from me. (As a Sonic MyDVD user prior to purchasing EMC8, I can say without hesitation that while Sonic's support was kind of spotty, at least two people there, Kevin J. and Jon B. - surnames omitted for their privacy - could always be counted on to eventually respond with excellent support. Roxio hasn't shown this yet at all. ) Anyway, I uninstalled Picasa but have not uninstalled Roxio yet. I HATE that if I do a clean uninstall, then I have to first install V. 8.0 from my purchased CD, and then immediately install the 8.05 update - which is as long and involved as the original installation. So I do without D2D for now. The Google folks never did explain exacty how or what specifically is in conflict; just that the new Picasa beta is indeed causing the problems. I am glad that at least they have copped to this, as up until then most people were acting as if I was nuts - which I most likely am by now, but that's beside the point! Here are the two Google Support emails: First: And here's the second, sounds grim: Any advice at all from Roxio Support would be greatly appreciated! I can put a Roxio support tech directly in touch with the appropriate Google-Picasa software Engineer if necessary. Thanks, and I apologize again to all for the delay in getting back to this post.