• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 36 Guests (See full list)

There are no registered users currently online

Giorgio_B

Creating A High Quality Dvd

Question

Hi,

I'm new to Toast.

I'm just trying to create a dvd-video suitable for any dvd player with high quality rendition.

I realize that if I choose DVD-Video format in Toast 12 the only possible encoding is MPEG-2.

If I would like to use MPEG-4 in order to get a higher quality compression, I have to set the format "High Definition DVD". But this format is made only for Blu-Ray players. is it right?

So, my question is: how do i get the best possible quality (considering my needs, to watch my dvd on TV)?

Any other software (even iDVD) allows MPEG-4 encoding to create a DVD.

I'm really confused.

6 answers to this question

A DVD is NOT high definition. The standard for DVD video is "Standard Definition," which is 720x480. DVDs came out before there was such a thing as Hi-Def. On an HD TV, it looks pretty grainy, and that's just how it is. As you said, you can create an AVCHD disc, which is a Hi-Definition format on a DVD disc, but that must be played on a Blu-Ray player. Everything else, even your commercial DVD videos, are Standard Definition. You can't change that, that's how it is.

HD requires HD output, which means Blu-Ray. A regular DVD player can only output in SD.

Hope that helps clear it up!

I think you are mistaken about iDVD. It is only MPEG-2 because that is what is required for video DVD.

I think you are mistaken about iDVD. It is only MPEG-2 because that is what is required for video DVD.

Ok, my mistake. I thought that compression in iDVD was not to mpeg-2. Anyway, quality was not so bad. But I wanted something more, that's why i purchased Toast.