• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 20 Guests (See full list)

There are no registered users currently online

Thaichong

How To Create An Iso From A Sacd

Question

Hi Brendon, sorry I have to put my problem here cos' I couldn't find "add new forum". This is my first time here. I was reading your threads somewhere that you are also owner of Roxio DE10.3. My issue is I have a SACD (Carole King - Tapestry) which I wanted to play on my Audiogate DS DAC 100. I have about 10 SACDs however there were 2 which I cannot play on my Audiogate dac. It won't read! And that is beside the point. The point I wanted to make is understanding iso file. There were many topics on ISO and half the time I just couldn't understand how does one actually make iso file. Can I create an iso file and save it to my hard drive? Or do I need to use a different software to extract iso file? Can Roxio Creator do this? Hope that it is not confusing you as I don't know where to start from. Thank you,. My apology if I have strayed into a wrong area. Or if anyone reading this can guide me.

11 answers to this question

Hello Thaichong.

I've split your question off from the topic where you put it. Later on it should probably go into a "How To" forum, but we can fix that later.

I.S.O. is the International Standards Organization. They made the rules for how optical discs should be structured. A sector-by-sector copy of a data disc is called an ISO, and can be stored on a hard drive or used to make a copy of the disc.

It seems you can only make ISOs of discs where the data are held in files, such as data discs and Video-DVD. You can make images of discs where the data are streamed such as Audio-CDs and SACDs, but those have to be a special format and aren't ISOs [e.g. CUE/BIN, C2D, CCD/IMG, GI etc]

Most Roxio software can make disc images of Audio CDs, but I don't know if they can handle SACDs. The format is rare, and I've never had one myself.

Perhaps our audio Experts can assist here?

Regards,