• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 16 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

No Luck! Disaster!

catmandoo62@yahoo.com

Question

hi all

im a macintosh veteran of professioanl protools, and all things mac. I've been a pc guy for other things for 20 yrs too.

Has Bill gates made it impossible for average consumer to work with video files in the pc? I'm determined to get this EM8 working well, but not very optimistic!!

ALL i want to do, is transfer home videos, by firewire cam, to my pc, to archive them all, on my newly bought huge 300 gig hard drives. I want to play them back, maybe edit them a little or not, and maybe once in a while burn a dvd for a family member. On a mac i could do this flawlessly, so far on pc i cant.

My computer is rather simple 1.2ghz pentium, 512ram, internal hd= c and d, d has space so im putting roxio on d, the 300 gig is split it two H and I , and im trying to record/capture video to there.

My first capture attemp was glorious, the 20 seconds or so of video played right back in the capure window, of EM8....as soon as i went to make more of a project of it,,,in the "next step", everything froze. and everytime since that ive tried to open EM8 annd at the capture as a video file, the whole thing freezes and CRASHES.

HOWEVER,,,THE FILE PLAYS FINE in WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER!!!!

I have uninstalled the program 50 times, i have upgraded to 8.05 50 times, in my opinon the program has no clear "PREFERENCES", i cant troubleshoot the problem at ALL. I know my c drive is almost full with 1 gig free, and the d drive which has the program has about 6 gigs free, and i set whatever i could find to make H (the 300 gig) as the temp drive. I tried drag the caputered file to other partitions of the big drive,,nothing nothing nothing....AS SOON AS I TRY TO ADD A FILE it FREEZES......THERE ARE NO MENUS,,,,IM STUCK!