Can't install AVG antivirus because of Roxio bug

audrey

Question

But when I try to execute the above update, I get the err msg:

"This update is designed for CDR4 Drivers 7.1 and above"

Newbie here!

I don't even know what Roxio driver(s) are installed on this Dell XP Home computer.

But, I can't install the AVG software, because of an alleged bug in the Roxio software.

And now I can't install the update/upgrade because I'm supposed to have the wrong Roxio Driver installed.

Any hints on how I can get back to installing the AVG anti-virus software?

6 answers to this question

Guest mlpasley
But when I try to execute the above update, I get the err msg:

"This update is designed for CDR4 Drivers 7.1 and above"

Newbie here!

I don't even know what Roxio driver(s) are installed on this Dell XP Home computer.

But, I can't install the AVG software, because of an alleged bug in the Roxio software.

And now I can't install the update/upgrade because I'm supposed to have the wrong Roxio Driver installed.

Any hints on how I can get back to installing the AVG anti-virus software?

What version of Roxio are you using? Open VideoWave and go to Help/ About to see what version you're using.

What version of Roxio are you using? Open VideoWave and go to Help/ About to see what version you're using.

I only have 3 Roxio apps installed:

- Direct CD Format Utility

- Disc Copier

- Easy CD Creator

I'm not certain if these are trial versions or not. I just did a complete reinstall of Win XP Home and all the other cd's that came with the computer. I've never used the CD drive for anything other than reading CD's.

Everything I see is Version 5.

I only have 3 Roxio apps installed:

- Direct CD Format Utility

- Disc Copier

- Easy CD Creator

I'm not certain if these are trial versions or not. I just did a complete reinstall of Win XP Home and all the other cd's that came with the computer. I've never used the CD drive for anything other than reading CD's.