Video Compilations

Absolute Beginner

Question

Posters to this board seem to get a LOT of good assistance. So I'm encouraged to ask for some for myself...

I picked up Creator 9 to more or less "join" AVI files burn them as a single DVD (i.e., convert files, no DVD menu needed, play files sequentially). I ASSUME that DVD Copy's Video Compilation is the best way to do this. When I start adding files to burn I notice that the Content Quality indicator doesn't budge. It is always green, reads "Excellent" quality and "4482 MB" - no matter how many (large) files I add. Isn't this supposed to be how the software warns me about compression requirements and subsequent quality issues? Or how many discs I might need?

I did try to "over-select" the amount of files to be added (to some ridiculous overall size) and got an error message: "R6025 Pure Virtual Function Call". Could that be indicative of a software/hardware problem - or more likely operator error?

Is there any way to see an estimate of how long such projects will take to complete? Can compiling and burning to DVD projects be paused and resumed later?

Please let me know if I'm using the optimal Creator 9 tool for AVI "joining". This software seems to have a variety of ways to accomplish a task. The Users Guide needs a "flowchart" just to help newbies choose the right tool.

Thanks!

6 answers to this question

Thank you for your reply.