• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 4 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Encoding Too Long

kevin9855

Question

I have just started using EMC8 and I am new to the discussion group. I have used sonic mydvd 4 in the past. It seems as though encoding AVI to Mpg is taking very long compared to mydvd 4. Is there any quality degredation in capturing my video directly to mpg in EMC8 or for quality sake, should I capture in AVI and wait till the morning for the finished DVD? I am connecting an analogue camcorder to A/V input on Digital camcorder, then Digital cam to firewire port on computer for capture. I am using create dvd from the EMC8 menu.

My system is:

1 gig ram

amd 2400 athlon xp

200gb western digital hd

have set performance to best in

Windows xp home sp2

and I of course try to shut down

any un-needed programs.

Radeon all-in-wonder 7500 video.

Thanks Kevin

3 answers to this question

I have just started using EMC8 and I am new to the discussion group. I have used sonic mydvd 4 in the past. It seems as though encoding AVI to Mpg is taking very long compared to mydvd 4. Is there any quality degredation in capturing my video directly to mpg in EMC8 or for quality sake, should I capture in AVI and wait till the morning for the finished DVD? I am connecting an analogue camcorder to A/V input on Digital camcorder, then Digital cam to firewire port on computer for capture. I am using create dvd from the EMC8 menu.

My system is:

1 gig ram

amd 2400 athlon xp

200gb western digital hd

have set performance to best in

Windows xp home sp2

and I of course try to shut down

any un-needed programs.

Radeon all-in-wonder 7500 video.

Thanks Kevin