• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 16 Guests (See full list)

There are no registered users currently online

treehousemann

16 x 9 problem: Videowave or capturing problem?

Question

Ok I'm new to EMC9 but love its applications so far. Here's my latest delimma and yes I am learning. I've captured footage via a Sony GV D1000 that is 16 x 9, though during capture it still appeared 4 x 3 and stretched vertically.

My intial thought was not to worry, once inside Videowave I can set the production to 16 x 9. But I was mistaken. The production set in 16 x 9 appears 4 x 3 stretched inside the 16 x 9 framing with black bars on the sides. To say the least that's pretty ugly. So is it the capturing? Is there a way to set the capture to 16 x 9? Or is the problem in videowave? Or is it the deck?

Any input or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Treehousemann

HP Pavillion Dv6000 Notebook PC

AMD Turion 64 x2 Mobile Tl 52 1.60GHz / 512KB

120 GB 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive Plus two Lacie 250

2.GB DDR2 SDRAM

256MB NVIDIA R

10 answers to this question

Are you capturing to MPEG? This is a known bug. For some reason the 16:9 flag is lost. Capture to DV AVI and everything should work fine.

Are you capturing to MPEG? This is a known bug. For some reason the 16:9 flag is lost. Capture to DV AVI and everything should work fine.

No. I am going to DV AVI. Its a little strange, since I can go over to windows movie maker and capture there in 16:9, but I'd rather stay in EMC9... Any other suggestions?

Thanks so much!

Treehousemann

I have a Sony digital 8mm camcorder. Here is what I do:

Use Media Capture 9 to capture to DV AVI file

Start Videowave

make sure the project is set for 16:9

Add the DV AVI file

The GV D1000 is a miniDV tape deck, right? What camcorder was used when recording the tape?

post-49-1167457599.jpg