• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 11 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Hybrid Dvd-video With Mac And Windows Data -- Is It Possible?

markbateman@bigfoot.com

Question

Hi there,

I'm a Macromedia Director developer in need of some advice as to whether or not what I wish to achieve is even possible!

I need to produce a DVD with DVD-Video content that will play on a good old regular domestic DVD-Video player; sitting alongside this DVD-Video content will be a Macromedia Director projector [ie, a data section].

But, and here's the crux, the Director projectors are to be both Mac and Windows and anybody who has any experience of creating cross-platform CD-ROMs will know that under Toast you need to produce a custom hybrid CD-ROM and share the content from the Mac partition across to the ISO [Windows] partition.

Bearing in mind that I need to produce what appears to be a hybrid DVD-Video + Data is this at all even possible? And if so what the blooming heck is the right procedure for doing under Toast 7?

Many thanks in advance.

Regards, Mark :)

2 answers to this question

Mark,

A few things to try, not sure what will work.

Multi-seesion

Burn the DVD video part (UDF) and set the session as open (possible?)

Then burn the next session as a hybrid (custom possible?)

All 1 format

This is a UDF (DVD Video) formatted disk

Put your video_ts folder at the root level

Then put 2 folders at the root level (1 for the Mac projector and 1 for the win projector)

Then a user has to open the correct folder (in win you could try an autorun.ini file at the root level as well)

The issue with the all-in-1 is that it may auto start the DVD player and if on win, also your win projector if you have an autorun.ini

Good luck!