disk copier hangs at splash screen, pc becomes unstable

DonB

Question

Disc copier hangs at splash screen every time I start it, splash screen will not go away, machine becomes unstable requiring reboot. Sometimes PC will not reboot, requiring power off shutdown followed by naging scandisk on restart. Creator Classic works fine.

I have been running EMC9 for approx 2 months since upgrading from EMC7 because of incompatability with MSIE7. This issus just started a few days ago.

My pc NEVER hangs or locks up, unless I am running EMC9. Plenty of PC power, P-4 3.2 Ghz; 1GB DDR2 Ram; XP Prof-SP2; Plextor 12X DVD burner; All MS updates installed, etc.

Appreciate assistance solving this issue.

Thanks

I sure hope someone from Roxio sees this. I do not mean to go on a rant, I really want to make this work. I have been using EMC & ECCD since version 3. I skipped version 4 & 6, so I have purchased 4 versions. Version 7 was great, until Windows update put in MSIE7. EMC9 is the most unstable software I ever purchased. I am very disappointed with it.

3 answers to this question

Did you update your video drivers from the card makers (NOT from MS)?

Also, make sure you have the latest DirectX (9.0c, Feb release) - this is not included in MS updates for some strange reason

Also, consider removing IE7 - it's proving to be a disaster in XP with a number of apps (as well as failing to open a lot of websites)

Did you update your video drivers from the card makers (NOT from MS)?

Also, make sure you have the latest DirectX (9.0c, Feb release) - this is not included in MS updates for some strange reason

Also, consider removing IE7 - it's proving to be a disaster in XP with a number of apps (as well as failing to open a lot of websites)