Quality Loss Divx Avi Files Compilation To Dvd

carlbozicek@btinternet.com

Question

Accept that I am a beginner - so no smarty replies please!

After compiling say 5 x 350Mb Divx avi files I then burn to disc (or file).

The final DVD quality is very poor, nothing like the excellent original. The result is best described as pixellated.

I have done the recommended empty temp files/turn off start up items etc. etc. but this has made no difference.

Is this a weakness of the program or can I tweak any settings?

My computer and burner are capable of burning quality DVDs.

Note that I have used AVS converter (trial version) to convert indidual files and these are perfectly OK (apart from the logo). I am not prepared to get the full version of this because I don't think it does compilations (and I have already paid for Roxio and would not be happy to just scrap it).

Am I trying to put too many files on one DVD disc? If so, how come I can use my DVD/VHS recorder/player to get the same files on one disc with no problems. Note that MY player will play Divx avi files. My friends DVD players will not. I would like to give them DVD compilations. To date I have been using my recorder to convert from 5 avis to 1 VHS then VHS (EP) back to 1 DVD disc. The quality is quite reasonable but surely I should not need to do this!

So the question is will Roxio be able to do the equivalent without quality loss?

Help would be most appreciated.

P.S. For those in the know or for those who don't know, the hatch is full of Mars Bars.

13 answers to this question

Accept that I am a beginner - so no smarty replies please!

After compiling say 5 x 350Mb Divx avi files I then burn to disc (or file).

The final DVD quality is very poor, nothing like the excellent original. The result is best described as pixellated.

I have done the recommended empty temp files/turn off start up items etc. etc. but this has made no difference.

Is this a weakness of the program or can I tweak any settings?