Jump to content
  • 0

All photos missing


Voodoo

Question

I have an interesting and frustrating issue. I worked on a video and still photo montage over a period of several days saving the project and shutting down the computer between sessions. The last time I started up the computer and opened the project all the content was missing except for the very last photo in the show. The project would not let me browse for missing files.

 

When viewing the menu for "recent projects" at the opening screen, I noticed that all of the "recent projects" were no longer listed, including the one I had been working on for the past few days. Re-booting did not bring the project back. Opening older projects posed no problems.

 

Anyone else ever have this happen?

 

Thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

Did you move the original files? Videowave uses links to all of the photos/videos to save space, so if you moved or deleted the original files, then they're gone.

Were the photos/videos stored locally, or on a network?

 

If you are doing a big project and putting alot of time and effort, me personally would save a second copy onto a pen or disc, just for safety. Also think about the above. :rolleyes:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have an interesting and frustrating issue. I worked on a video and still photo montage over a period of several days saving the project and shutting down the computer between sessions. The last time I started up the computer and opened the project all the content was missing except for the very last photo in the show. The project would not let me browse for missing files.

 

When viewing the menu for "recent projects" at the opening screen, I noticed that all of the "recent projects" were no longer listed, including the one I had been working on for the past few days. Re-booting did not bring the project back. Opening older projects posed no problems.

 

Anyone else ever have this happen?

 

Thanks

 

I think that you and the responder are talking past each other. No matter where you save the project/production, hard drive/thumb drive/whatever, if you are going to work/edit the project, the original video/photos files must remain in their original locations which are now linked.

 

Only after you burn/output the project may you move/delete the source files. Then of course you may never re-edit.

 

I have this hunch that you might have been working from an SD cardor similar card for your photos that was removed for another card. Or perhaps the drives were somehow re-lettered.

 

Anyway, I hope this helps. I am a newbie along these paths myself.

 

D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Did you move the original files? Videowave uses links to all of the photos/videos to save space, so if you moved or deleted the original files, then they're gone.

Were the photos/videos stored locally, or on a network?

 

 

No, didn't move anything or delete. All the files are still in the same folder stored locally, the project was created in DVD builder. Is it possible to save a project to a disk or thumb drive? If so, you can only use it on the same computer you created it on, right? (I've tried to move a project to another computer in the past with no luck)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

save them on a thumb drive by all means - but when you copy them back they MUST go in the same folder as they originally were

 

To make life easy, what I do is make the nested set of folders with the same name as they are on the original - then you just copy the entire thing and that puts them in the right place

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Did you move the original files? Videowave uses links to all of the photos/videos to save space, so if you moved or deleted the original files, then they're gone.

Were the photos/videos stored locally, or on a network?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...