• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 8 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Can You Edit-burn Within A Track On A Cd When Burning?

mhstudio1701

Question

I am just getting into burning CD's and I called Roxio before I bought Toast wanting to make sure it was possible to edit-burn within a track on a CD when burning. They told me I could, but looking at the manual and going through the software, I don't see how to do it. What I want to know is, is it possible to burn in the middle of a track by starting or fading into your favorite part of music or track and then stopping or fade out of the track before it ends? Is this possible with Toast 7? Can anyone give me step-by-step instructions as how to do this or, if it is not possible with Toast, suggest a software I can use to do this? I am on the Mac, so the software would have to be mac compatible. Thanks

6 answers to this question

you can edit sound just not in toast and no you dont need Jam. You can use SoundStudio (comes free with some macs) or audacity, which i s free online. Those are both just simple sound wave editors. Just import your cd tracks as Aiff and import into one of those apps. Edit out what you dont want, or add if need be. Add your fade out, which is an effect in both programs, save and export as aiff, and import into toast.

As for crossfades. I could tell you how to do it for free, but its way too much hassle and I do recomend jam for that fuction since it does the crossfades and track sepearation all in 1 program.

Toast 7 cannot do any editing. What you describe seems ideal for Roxio's Jam 6 which is designed for doing audio CD fade ins, outs and crossfades. It also burns the audio CDs. If you only were getting Toast for audio CDs you might want to take advantage of Roxio's 15-day refund policy. They should have recommended Jam 6 instead.