• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 12 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Burning Blanks

savagem

Question

When I burn the disc, no errors are reported. But the disc can't/won't play, in either DVD player or Computer.

Ok, I am not a total newbie, but NOT an expert either, but I will list the details I think are relevant.....

I can open the disc, and I see .IFO, BUP and MPEG files, BUT they all contain 0 Bytes ! ! ! ( This is obviously the problem ! ) I have tried to burn several times, at slowest burn speed, and different types of discs. ( HP and TDK, both -R ) I have updated firmware for video card and burner. Burner is Lite-On DVDRW SOHW-1693S

I am using MyDVD to burn the disc. Project contains multiple menu pages, and is extremly large. I have to choose "Extra Long Play" in the QUALITY box to make it all fit. The project runs fine in preview mode. And again, NO ERRORS are reported when I burn. I have been able to burn other projects just fine, though none were as large as this.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated !

BTW....videos are of a School Assembly, not ripped DVD movies, etc. Copy protection should not be an issue. Right?)

6 answers to this question

If the total length of time is over 2 hours, burn to a Folder Set instead of an .iso file. Anything over 2 hours will be cut off, if burned to an .iso file.

Ok, I will try it, and let you know the results.

Could I use a dual-layer disc and try the same idea? Burn it to a dual layer, then use disc copier?

Ok, I will try it, and let you know the results.

Could I use a dual-layer disc and try the same idea? Burn it to a dual layer, then use disc copier?

Don't burn to the disc first. Uncheck that in MyDVD, and select Folder set. I would not use the lower quality when selecting the project type, in MyDVD. I would use best quality.

Create a folder wherever you want it on your hard drive, and save it there.