• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 6 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Basic Edit Question

mgb7

Question

Aplogies for this really simple question, I'm new to video editing

How do I simply cut out an unwanted section using Videowave 7?

I can see how to trim the start and end points, but I've just captured a complete DV tape that's 60 minutes long as a single MPEG-2 file and now want to simply remove the unwanted sections.

Thanks

M.

9 answers to this question

I can see how to trim the start and end points, but I've just captured a complete DV tape that's 60 minutes long as a single MPEG-2 file and now want to simply remove the unwanted sections.

Thanks

M.

In the future I would recommend capturing to avi format especially if you are planning to make edits. It keeps the best quality while mpeg2 is compressed as you capture with resulting loss of quality. The disadvantage of avi capture is very large files. Also try to capture in small 10-15 minute segments, it makes for much easier editing. The projects can easily be combined in DVD Builder.

In the future I would recommend capturing to avi format especially if you are planning to make edits. It keeps the best quality while mpeg2 is compressed as you capture with resulting loss of quality. The disadvantage of avi capture is very large files. Also try to capture in small 10-15 minute segments, it makes for much easier editing. The projects can easily be combined in DVD Builder.

Easy for you to say, Walt. lol I have no way that I can capture to .avi file with my Hauppauge card, but you are correct. AVI is the best way to capture.