Jump to content
  • Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 11 Guests (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online
  • 0

Preventing Creation Of My Videos, My Music Folders


dickl42@ktc.com

Question

Every time I use any of the modules in EMC7, folders named My Music, My Videos, and sometimes My Photos are created. Surely in an organization as big as Roxio there must have been a few programmers smart enought to realize that not everyone wanted these useless folders cluttering up the Windows Explorer. Is there a way to prevent their creation?

 

Thank You.

Richard Lockwood

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

Every time I use any of the modules in EMC7, folders named My Music, My Videos, and sometimes My Photos are created. Surely in an organization as big as Roxio there must have been a few programmers smart enought to realize that not everyone wanted these useless folders cluttering up the Windows Explorer. Is there a way to prevent their creation?

 

Thank You.

Richard Lockwood

 

 

I believe that that is actually a function of XP. Those folders are there already. Surely, you knew that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Every time I use any of the modules in EMC7, folders named My Music, My Videos, and sometimes My Photos are created. Surely in an organization as big as Roxio there must have been a few programmers smart enought to realize that not everyone wanted these useless folders cluttering up the Windows Explorer. Is there a way to prevent their creation?

 

Thank You.

Richard Lockwood

As stated, those are standard default Windows folders and exist when you install the operating system. Programs being installed that use those as default path settings is normal these days.

 

In pretty much each module in the suite, like PhotoSuite, Creator Classic, and so on, there are folder options for where things are defaulting to. Saving, temp areas, and so on. Those are installed with the typical Windows paths that are usually there. So if you rename, move, or delete them, they are going to be re-created by the program because they are required by the settings. The only way around it, is to go into each module, change all the path settings to what you want them to be, then get rid of them. That is how users can change the 'clutter' if they want caused by Microsoft (in your case at least).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...