• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 12 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Divx Compatibility

Saasuke

Question

Hello all ^_^ I'm new to the roxio software. I picked up the big red box :P Easy CD & DVD. I had the intent of burning some video clips onto DVD's so that the wife and I could watch them on the DVD player (she hates sitting at my PC) however i ran into an issue. All of my AVI's have a DivX video encoding; and the roxio software will not register them. So i came here, and found the guide for EMC9 http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=8841 dix dilemma posted. I thought that would solve all my problems, however i'm not able to follow through all the steps. I don't have EMC9 :( If anyone is able to help me out and let me know how i can get the Easy CD & DVD burning software to recognize my DivX encoded AVI's it would be awesome!

As a note: On the guide i found; the step I ran into a problem with was

I'll assume you know how to copy a file from one directory to another. So, copy the DivXDec.ax file to your c:\Program Files\Common Files\Roxio Shared\9.0\DivX\ directory. There should already be a few other divx files there.

When looking through the directory there is no '\DivX' folder in the \9.0\ directory. I haven't deleted or moved anything... I don't know what's up :o

11 answers to this question

Gah! recommendations? i'm assuming there's not an upgrade for this line... not looking forward to re-encoding 400+ gigs. I'll give u this one back brand new and spring for EMC 9 :P Oh well... only 30 bones i suppose... but still disappointing. :( I shouldn't have gone the cheap route [/sigh]

On another note... Thank you all very much! This forum has by far been the best resource i've found. Much appreciated. :D

Life Lesson: If you can get something for $30 that everyone else has to pay $99 for, walk away!!!