• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 10 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

I am getting frustrated with Roxio DVD software

Idaho Hick

Question

Here's what I am trying to do: I recorded the news on my DVD recorder. I want to create an mpeg file of just the portion of the news I want. It is only like two minutes long.

I have tried every editing, copying and DVD authoring program that comes with Roxio 9. By the way...why are there so many? I have successfully made several files, but they either did not start and end when I wanted them to (I missed my target clip), or the audio was not synchronized with the vidio (like an old Japanese karate film). In some programs, the computer just gets stuck and requires me to use the Task Manager to terminate the program.

Why is this so difficult. I am a very computer saavy person. In fact, I am an A+ certified tech. My computer is hand built with really good stuff. It is a 3 Ghz Pentium D with 2 GB high speed ram, a WD Raptor main HD, WD 250 GB 2nd HD, and a high end nvidia video card (500.00 plus).

So does anyone have suggestions? I have a stack of MiniDV tapes from my video camera that I have been having the same type of issues with.

I had the same issues with Roxio 8 and was hoping that 9 fixed them. I don't think I am going to buy 10.

Sincerely,

Idaho Hick

Frustrated Consumer

16 answers to this question

So you already have the video on a standard DVD? Using Explorer, do you see files with vob as extension? If so, you can bring in a vob file in Videowave, and then do your editing (trimming, splitting, etc) there.

Yes sir. But better than that, I have the entire news program now in mpeg-2 format. I just can't successfully cut the large file down to the clip I want.

Idaho Hick