• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 7 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

New To Emc8

skics

Question

Hello all,

I am new to EMC 8. I have a Gateway 7330GZ notebook with a Mobile Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 532 with HT Technology, Chipset Intel® 852GME

(1MB L2 Cache | 3.06GHz | 533MHz FSB), 80 GB HDD (4200 RPM), Intel® Extreme 2 Graphics

Dynamic Video Memory Technology (DVMT) supports up to 64 MB shared video memory,

512 MB DDR (1 × 512 MB), 333 MHz, DDR

Expandable to 1.5 GB

Write maximum: 8X DVD +/-R, 4x DVD +/- RW, 24x DVD+R DL, 24X CD-R and 10X CD-RW disks

(I am trying to give as much info as possible)

Do these specs appear to be sufficient to make DVD's from my DV tapes? (Made with Panasonic GS-200 camera)

I can import the movies fine, (long process in DV-AVI mode), but can not seem to make(Burn) the DVD's in

My DVD.

I made the Project and previewed it . All appeared fine. After the long encoding process I ended up with nothing but an error message of "menu was unable to encode". Should I save as an ISO file first? (I read that on this forum here). I am just trying to copy some vacation videos to DVD. I was hoping it wouldn't be to complicated.

Any advice on if I need to upgrade my notebook or if I just need more tips and tricks on using the software is appreciated. If any responders need additional info on the internals of the computer, I can get it from the notebook when I get home (At work now).

This seems like a great and helpful forum,

Thanks.

Andy

6 answers to this question

After the long encoding process I ended up with nothing but an error message of "menu was unable to encode". Should I save as an ISO file first? (I read that on this forum here).

Thanks.

Andy