• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 45 Guests (See full list)

There are no registered users currently online

Penny

Slow Editing in Video Wave

Question

Hello - I have been using EMC9 for several months. After the learning curve, I really enjoy it. But still found editing to be so slow - I decided to invest in a new Intel Core Duo computer. Set up as follows;

Windows XP Pro

INTEL CORE 2 DUO E6850 (BX80557E6850) 3.0GHZ EM64T DUAL CORE W/4MB CACHE 1333MHZ LGA775-PIN RETAIL BOXED W/COOLING FAN (3 YEARS WARRANTY) =ARCTIC SILVER 5 COMPOUND

ASUS P5K PREMIUM/WIFI-AP INTEL P35 CHIPSET ATX FORM FACTOR (CPU TYPE:INTEL - SOCKET 775)

KINGSTON HYPER X KHX8500D2K2/2G 2GB KIT (1GB x 2) MATCH PAIR PC28500 1066MHZ CL5 5-5-5-15

ATI RADEON X1950 PRO 256MB GDDR3 VIVO CROSSFIRE PCI-E DUAL DVI/HDTV

ANTEC TITAN 650 SERVER TOWER W/650W POWER SUPPLY 4x5.25" 6x3.5"(hidden)

2 -S EAGATE 500GB ST3500630NS SATA ES 7200RPM 16MB

LITE-ON LH-20A1L-06 20X SUPERALLWRITE SATA+LIGHTSCRIBE

After doing all the updates and installs. I started videowave - and sorry to say the editing it still slow.

Adding a transition - changing the display time of a photograph, takes at least two minutes some times longer and when I start to play it in videowave to see how it looks and sounds - sometimes the music stops playing, and sometimes it just stops altogether.

Each section of my movie it about 15 to 30 minutes - with photos edited in photo editor, video, music, transitions and special effects. I have found and probably is natural the more transitions, special effects etc. I add the slower it gets. But can't believe it should slow down as much as it does.

The only thing I can think of is when I originally captured the video from a VHS tape I made it one file. My plan was to split it up in Videowave, which I did. But now it seems each section contains more KB's then the first one. For example:

The First section "1967.DMSM" File is 1023 KB - 30 minutes