Sign in to follow this  
xray

My idvd app burns better!?

Question

I am new to toast. But when I try to burn a dvd (whatever file size it is) the toast says my 4.38

available dvd disc space is not enough. But the same file burns fine with idvd. What gives?

I've tried this with a 700 meg H264 movie as well as a quicktime uncompressed.

Please help. I don't want to feel I just wasted $99. Thanks.

2 answers to this question

Toast uses "Disc" when it is reporting there isn't enough space available on the blank disc. It uses "Disk" when it is reporting there isn't enough hard drive space on the drive where the Roxio Converted Items folder is located. Is it possible that the problem is disk space rather than disc space? If so, change the location of the Converted Items folder in Toast preferences to a drive that has more available space.

Toast's MPEG encoder will fit more video to a DVD than does iDVD because Toast uses compressed Dolby Digital audio whereas iDVD uses uncompressed PCM audio. Also, iDVD reserves more disc space for its menus than does Toast. As long as your video isn't greater than about 3 hours it should fit using Toast.

Try choosing Save as Disc Image instead of clicking the burn button. Then burn it to DVD using the image file setting in the Copy window. If the disc image is larger than 4.38 GB then Toast's Fit-to-DVD will do some additional compression to fit the disc.

Well, I hope Toast 8 quality is better than Toast 7 because I have bought Toast 7 and I have never been able to make my movies burned with Toast 7 look as good as my movies burned with iDVD.