Data Disc VS Creator Classic

Guest RCD74

Question

I normally use Data Disc to back-up my files and folders from my hard drive, however, I have read some posts about Creator Classic and decided to give it a try today. I took some picture folders, mpeg videos, iso files, etc. and created 2 discs worth of files/folders using Creator Classic. I really like how it allowed me to just add whatever size files/folders and then did the thinking for me by knowing how many discs I needed. All burned fine and I had no trouble with anything in regards to burning. However, when I put the disc back in the computer to see what was on it, it didn't show it to me the way I expected it to - like I am used to with Data Disc. My question here is what is the purpose of Creator Classic, and why must I only be able to use the disc with a computer that has EMC9 on it?? What is the difference between Data Disc and Creator Classic? Again, I am still learning the ins and outs of this software and I feel like everyday I learn something new. Sorry if I sound clueless - it is most likely b/c I am! :P

Rachel

10 answers to this question

Thanks for the reply Paul. I guess what I meant is that after putting the disc made by Creator Classic into a computer that didn't have any EMC on it, the disc wasn't "read". For instance my files/folders didn't show up. However, when I use data disc, my files and folders will show up on any computer - they are independent from having to use the EMC program. I hope I am making sense. I think what I am asking is, do I HAVE to have EMC (whatever version) on my computer to be able to retrieve my files from having burned a project in Creator Classic??

Rachel