Widescreen Squished Into A Letterbox

MJHartsough

Question

I've been using "Dell Movie Studio" (Roxio Videowave) for several years. I just bought Easy Media Creator 10.

I shot my video in 16:9 ratio.

When I set up my production I set the aspect ratio to 16:9.

It looks fine when I'm editing, but when the final product shows up on my non-widescreen TV, the video looks like it's a letterbox that's been squished inside another letterbox.

I expected one letterbox, but I don't know why I got a letterbox inside a letterbox.

I'd appreciate it if someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks,

Mike

13 answers to this question

It's a Panasonic PV-GS320, Mini-DV.

You may have to use the Quick Movie Magic or MotionDV STUDIO software that is included with the camcorder.

I'm not certain anyone here has experience with that software to know if it will export video that EMC 10 can use properly.

It's a Panasonic PV-GS320, Mini-DV.
Are you capturing to MPEG 2? There was an issue with 16:9 and MPEG with earlier version of EMC, but I thought it was fixed in EMC 10. Make sure you are capturing to DV AVI via firewire and try again. Also make sure that Videowave is set to 16:9 when you are editing.

Thanks for the recommendations.

Yes, I use the Motion DV Studio software to capture the video to my hard disk.

I capture to AVI format.

I have been using USB. I see in other threads that there are issues capturing via USB vs Firewire that I wasn't aware of (I was surprised to learn that you lose resolution with USB - I've been unhappy that I bought a new 3 CCD digital camera and my images weren't any better than on my old Analog Hi8 camera, and maybe it's due to capturing over USB!??!).

It's funny - the guy who sold me the camcorder also sold me a Firewire card, but when I saw that the camcorder had a USB interface, I tossed the Firewire card into the closet. Guess I'd better start digging in my closet for that Firewire card. :o