• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 9 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Downloading From Mini Dvd

amhernan3

Question

Sorry if this has been covered but if it has, I couldn't find it in the 9 pages of posts. I am a NooB so sorry if this is a stupid question.

I am importing video from Mini-dvd's and I keep reading that the best format to import as dv-avi, but when I open Roxio Media Import, the only options I have are Div-X, MPEG, and WMV 9. I have imported a video as both Div-X and MPEG and they end up as different file sizes. Which one offers the best quality? I also read in a post that I could just copy the .VOB files over to my HD and be able to use them in MyDVD and VideoWave. I have tried this also and when I go to Add Video, it won't use the .VOB files. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Tony

8 answers to this question

I really appreciate all of the help. I did finalize the disk before I put it in the Cp. I can copy the .VOB files to my HD but EMC doesn't recognize them when I try to use them in MyDVD.

I still don't understand why someone would use Div-X, rather then MPEG. My DVD player plays both MPEG and Div-X. The files with Div-X seem to be smaller so I am assuming that would mean that I would be able to fit more onto a disk in Div-X format than MPEG. Would I lose a lot of quality? Is Div-X a better format for smaller files with better quality?

Also, if DV AVI is only available with a firewire connection, if I were able to, and I hooked up my camcorder up to the CP, would I get DV-AVI option and would the quality of the file be better then if I just got it straight off the disk. I thought I read that the quality of DV-AVI is better then MPEG and easier to edit.

Also, the MPEG that EMC uses to get the video from the disk, is that MPEG-1 or MPEG-2. All mine says is MPEG.

Thanks again.