• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 6 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

General Copyright Question....

Syrallas

Question

21 answers to this question

Well now you're going into a totally different area. Purchased or rented DVD's is not the same "set of rules" as recording a tv broadcast to watch it later. Copy protected DVD's is not such a "grey" area.

Absolutely correct. But the point I was trying to make (perhaps inartfully) is that the law applicable to all copyrighted works -- whether you get them through cable or on a DVD -- makes no distinction as to whether or not you just made the copies for yourself or were foolish enough to try to make a buck off of someone else's copyrighted material. I only referred to the DVD's FBI warning because I'm sure we are all familiar with that, and its a warning that I believe applies equally to all copyrighted materials -- although I'm not a copyright lawyer.

BTW:

User Guide for EMC 10, p. viii

"Disclaimer

This product may allow you to reproduce materials in which you own the copyright or have

obtained permission to copy from the copyright owner. Unless you own the copyright or have

permission to copy such materials from the copyright owner, you may be violating copyright law

and be subject to the payment of damages and other remedies. If you are uncertain of your rights,

you should contact your legal advisor."

DIGITAL MILLENNIUM COPYRIGHT ACT

The 100 documents listed here (10.1MB) and this index is available Zipped: http://cryptome.org/dmca/dmca.zip (2.9MB)

This presents Congressional bills, reports, amendments and floor comments on the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) (introduced as H.R. 2281, WIPO Copyright Treaties Implementation Act). A following section presents similar material on subsequent copyright legislation related to the DMCA.

Documents are from the GPO Web site: http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/aces/aaces002.html

cd