• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 11 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Add Video

KimberK

Question

Hello

I'm new to this forum to Roxio 9. Basically I'm a professor doing popular media research so I'm capturing TV shows on TIVO and using Roxio to edit so that I just have very small clips (like all of the scenes that show Samantha dealing with breast cancer on Sex In The City). You should read this as "I'm technologically challenged"! Anyway, I've managed to get the .tivo files and edit them so that I produce .dat and .dmsm files; now I'm trying to put some of these clips together in one production. However, when I try to "Add Video" (a .dat file) to a production I get the message "One or more of the files you are trying to add cannot be edited, and have not been added." Can anybody help me with this? I'd sure appreciate it! Thanks! Kim

7 answers to this question

I outputed my productions as .avi file and that worked great (well, except that they're pretty dark, but that's another issue and I'll start a new thread if I can't figure it out).

I still haven't figured out why the sound doesn't work on the mpg2 files. I tried the Gspot program (on my laptop) and it says that the "codec(s) are installed." I couldn't capture a screenshot of the output from running Gspot (probably another symptom of being technologically challenged!). It's weird that it would say the codec's installed since on one of my computer's (desktop) it actually says it can't play the .mpg3 video because the codecs aren't installed. I can't download Gspot to this computer without getting tech support involved (annoying in a big way - not the tech support folk, just the necessity of getting them to give me adminstrative access).

I'm bummed that I can't get the .mpg3 files to work because that's a smaller file size and therefore would be better for sharing. I'll keep trying if you all will! :rolleyes:

Thanks! Kim

Hi Walt -