Adding Titles To Audio Cds

pasxapu

Question

I just downloaded Toast 9.0.2 and want to know how I can add titles to my original audio recordings. I checked the ADD TEXT box (in both Audio CD and Enhanced Audio CD mode), added some titles, and can see my titles all appear in Toast before burning. When I burn, eject, and reinsert the CD, it simply shows "Audio CD" and "Track 01" etc in iTunes. Where did my titles go?

Anyway, I have to burn large numbers of CDs and hope I don't have to re-title everything. Any help or suggestions welcome as I am new to Toast 9.

8 answers to this question

Thank you, very helpful - Tom Brandau

Your Mac does not read titles off of an audio CD. It reads them from the cdinfo database file in your User Library when an audio CD that matches the number and length of tracks is inserted. The cdinfo database file is written to via either entering the info in iTunes or downloading a match from the online CDDB.

Toast writes CD Text to an audio CD that can be read by home and car CD players equipped with CD Text capability. The Mac OS doesn't read CD Text, though. If you insert the audio CD and choose Disc Info in Toast's Recorder menu you'll see your track information is there on the disc.

So the issue is how to get CD Text info off the CD and written to the cdinfo database file. Fortunately that problem is solved at dougscripts.com. Click on this link.

I won't open a new thread because I have a similar problem and I don't quite understand:

With the 2 first Audio CDs I burned with CD-TEXT enabled, tracks names appears as well in my Mac's finder and in iTunes. Not in Toast disk info

and naturaly on another Mac.

Since then, CD-TEXT doesn't work . I wonder what has changed.