• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 17 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

44 Hours And Counting...

travellerva

Question

I'm new to disc burning so may be asking a question which is obvious to everyone else.

I downloaded a HD TiVo file to an external disc via the TiVo Transfer function. Took 3 hours and used a bunch of space (23GB). Am now trying to load this file into the Toast workspace in order to burn DVD-Video discs of it. Toast has been spinning the beach ball now for 44 hours and is still going... I see from the Activity Monitor that Toast is still using 99%+ of the CPU but nothing else is visible and Mac OS X thinks it has hung. I'm on a MacBook 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor.

Questions:

Has Toast really hung and am I wasting my time waiting for the file to load?

Is the extended time required a function of the file size, the file type (TiVo HD) or the fact that it's on a FireWire drive - or something else?

The file is on an external drive because there is not sufficient space on the Macintosh HD drive for it. Does there have to be enough space on that?

If Toast ever comes out of its beach-ball-spinning-file-load condition, will I be able to burn DVDs to span this big file (NOT BluRays)? Will that take another 40+ hours?

I wonder why Toast is unable to inform the user either what it is doing, when (and whether) it is likely to finish and what I should NOT be trying...

Any answers will make me feel better about this whole process - thanks in advance.

5 answers to this question

OK - here's the latest. I left the Toast9 load of my 29GB TiVo file to continue to run since my computer was not doing anything else. The Mac Activity Monitor shows Toast9 using 99%+ of the CPU. As of this writing, the process has been running for 170 hours - yep, that's more than 7 full days.

I now calculate that the load will be finished in 40 days (for a 3-hour HD TiVo recording!!). My estimate is based on the following: