• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 8 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Scene Detection?

pgrlga

Question

I am a total newbie to Roxio. It took me forever to make my first slideshow, and now I am moving on to video.

When I capture my video it downloads without recognizing any scenes. In trying to figure this out, I see that this is a known problem, but I can't seem to separate them myself in any kind of efficient manner. I can use videowave and trim the video into scenes, which takes forever, but it seems to be the only way.

I see that I should be able to use "scene detection" under the tools menu. But when I access the menu, the scene detection option is grayed out, with the video highlighted, and with the video in the storyline application.

Any ideas, or do I just suffer through? I haven't found anything to be easy yet...LOL I am feeling like I am missing something BIG in how to use this software.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

5 answers to this question

What are you capturing your video from? If it's a digital camcorder through an IEEE 1394 connection the program normally breaks the video into scenes which you can see by clicking on the 'down' arrow.

To use Scene Detect, switch to the 'collections' view, then right click on your video.

I am capturing from a mini disc used in my video camera. I have captured two full discs and the program hasn't broken either one down into scenes. At the risk of sounding dense...do you mean to "highlight" the video, then use the down arrow next to the description at the top, ie "recently captured media" being the collection? I still can't see any scenes.

I am breaking it down with the scene detect feature now...wow, it works just like you said! Looks like I may need to try it manually, I am getting too many scenes now! What do you know?!

Any ideas how to change anything so it will just separate when it captures?

Thanks for your help!!

Guest mlpasley