• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 7 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Help Needed With Cd Creator 5

VTfrmGA

Hi.. I'm new to this and I hope I am posting on the correct forum. Easy CD Creator 5.2 Basic came with my computer when it was purchased. (yes I know it's old but until now I haven't had any problems with it ). I am using Windows XP (service pack 2). When I try to burn something I am getting an error message "EASY CD CREATOR ENGINE INITIALIZATION HAS FAILED. (could not initialize the engine). I put the originial installing/resinstalling disc in and tried to resintall the program again.. Same error. I would be forever grateful if anyone has a solution to this as I am on a fixed income (getting old stinks.. lol) and I really can't afford any out of pocket $$ expenses to correct. Thank to all for taking time to ready this

Vicki

(sorry for the small font.. I couldn't enlarge it..) I'm having a really bad day.

Hi Vicki,

Understand the fixed income, and the font is the standard board font on this Invision board, so no worries. :)

Your version 5 should work fine in XP-SP2, although I wouldn't like to bet on it in SP3. How did it come to stop working?? Did you change something on the system about that time?

Probably the best I can suggest for you is to do a "clean uninstall". The Roxio installer leaves some registry settings alone when it finds them, which means that broken settings don't necessarily get fixed by a reinstall. The best thing to do in that circumstance is to thoroughly clean all traces of Easy CD Creator out, before you reinstall.

Here's how to do it:

-download a copy of Roxizap from here.

-use the Control Panel Add/Remove programs to uninstall ECDC 5.2

-run Roxizap. [be aware it will disable any other Roxio software you have installed.]

-restart your machine

-disconnect from the internet and stop all background processes such as antivirus, firewall, etc.