• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 28 Guests (See full list)

There are no registered users currently online

Chappy

Sonichddemuxer.dll Causes Other Apps To Crash

Question

Hi Folks

First, Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Happy New Year to my friends here! I hope you all find comfort and good times with family & friends this Holiday season!

Now, here's what's what. I've been using Creator 2009 for about 4 months now and no real issues so far with this suite, but it seems to interfere drastically with other non Sonic DVD related apps.

I've ripped a few titles from the BBC series "Planet Earth", "Blue Planet" and the other 2 sets in the series. Now before anyone goes all "High & Mightier then thou" on me, I am a firm proponent of being allowed to create backup copies of your software titles you OWN, and since my brother in law is not versed in this type of thing I've been doing it for him. Anyway, 17 dual layer disks in all and I ripped them all to VIDEO_TS folders on my HDD (I didn't have enough Dual Layer DVD's at that time to do direct copy..heheh).

I was using Copy2DVD to make "bit-4-bit" copies (didn't want to re-encode) but on at least 6 disks the app crashed, and these crashes were all caused by SonicHDdemuxer.dll. I tried a temp rename of the dll to see what happened, started Copy2DVD and I was informed by popup that the installer needed to configure sonicHDdemuxer.dll and asked for my Creator 2009 disk...I was a bit perplexed by this other program asking to install a Roxio dll. On a few occasions the files would load and the burn apparently start and then crash with the same demuxer.dll as the problem and the DL-DVD disk made useless...8 of them in all (major unhappy, they aren't cheap).