sy2002

Avchd Audio Out-of-sync

Question

Hi all!

I am new to Toast. I bought Toast 10 to do the following on my MacBook Pro (Mac OS 10.5):

Use AVCHD high-definition (HD) movies from my Camcorder Sony HDR-SR1 to...

a) ... convert them to standard-definition (SD) and burn DVDs

B) ... convert / transcode them to other formats (e.g. MP4)

c) ... burn Blue Ray discs

The problem I am having is, that no matter what I do, which setting I tune and try, all resulting movies (transcoded from AVCHD to abovementioned (a) and (B)) have an out-of-sync audio track. I did not try © yet, because I am still waiting until my blue ray drive is delivered.

That means: Input AVCHD => Toast / Transcode ) => Output: Audio is about 1 second behind Video

Has anybody here in the forum made any experiences with AVCHD, maybe even AVCHDs from a Sony HDR-SR1?

Might this be a codec problem? Or even a known problem?

Are there workarounds or other software I could use, if Toast cannot do it?

Greets

Sy2002

Edited by sy2002

17 answers to this question

When you preview the AVCHD file on the Mac, was it in sync? Also, how long is the video? Does it happen to both long clips and short clips?

Edited by gaper1

Thanks for your feedback!

When I preview it using the Toast video player, then the following problem arises: The file (60 seconds long) is played back about 5 seoncds with audio and video in synch. Then after 5 seconds, the video playback stops (image freezes) but the audio continues.

Using the VLC player, the playback works fine, so the file in general is not corrupted (the Sony HDR-SR1 camera of course can also play it w/o problems).

About your other question: The video is about 60-100 MB in size (1-2 minutes HD). It happens to both: long and short clips...

When you preview the AVCHD file on the Mac, was it in sync? Also, how long is the video? Does it happen to both long clips and short clips?

HI

I have the same problem audio out of sync on all files short and long,