Amount Of Time To Burn A Dvd

rodeman

Question

I'm brand new to Toast Titanium. I've only played with it a few times but have a question that I'm hung up on. I have a number of kids DVDs that we own. I've been trying to burn DVDs of some videos we have. They are about 1.5 to 3.5 gigs each. I'm using a Dual Layer DVD and a Mac Mini with a super drive. I can total up the file size and it's below the Dual layer 8.4 gig maximum. The DVD will burn with no problem, but it take absolutely forever.

I started one last night and it's been running nearly 12 hours and it's still not finished. I can't understand why it's taking so long to burn a DVD that is roughly 8 gigs in space. I've got to be doing something wrong.

The files are taken from some of our kids movies like Cars and others that we own. I wanted to have multiple on one DVD so the kids can watch them in the car. And it's difficult to reach the DVD player while driving, so I'd rather them have three or four on one disc.

I ripped the files as mp4 or m4v using handbrake. I just can't understand why it takes so long to get them burnt on a DVD. Can anyone help me with this question that's probably related to user error in some way?

Thanks,

John

3 answers to this question

I'm not sure if the DVD player can play Divx movies. I'll have to find the instructions to see what it says. I'm not a technical expert and I'm using a Mac for the very first time. I'm really confused on how to burn the movies. I'm doing this on movies that we own for the kids. I usually use handbrake on a new DVD so that I can stream it to our apple tv. We have no problems there, but Handbrake only let's me rip into a couple of formats, m4v or mp4 or h.264.