• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 10 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Can Toast Do This? Basic Edits From Dvd Source W/o Transcoding

jgp

Question

I'm just getting started moving some VHS to digital format for viewing on set-top DVD players and of course to backup. I've explored the pass-through with camcorder to DV option, iMovie, etc. Long story short, I'm finding that the best quality I can get is by making direct dubs of the tapes with a dual-deck VHS to DVD recorder. But I would really like to do very minimal editing - rough crops and adding chapters - that isn't possible with the deck I have. Plus I hate the menus this recorder makes.

My goal is to keep the quality as close to the source as possible, and trying to avoid unnecessary transcoding (if it makes a noticeable difference).

Given that I am getting the best "raw" capture by going straight to DVD, what I need is software that will let me work with the video from the direct dubbed DVDs without transcoding it again. Is this something Toast can do? Being noobish it is hard to tell whether the converting Toast seems to do for this case = transcoding.

Equipment: Magnavox VHS/DVD recorder deck (composite video out only), Canon miniDV cam with passthrough, iMovie and iDVD 09, intel iMac.

Thanks

5 answers to this question

The short answer is Toast is great for this. I have a Pioneer standalone DVD recorder and frequently do this with Toast. No re-encoding is required.