• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 10 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Creator Hangs When Ripping

Pleides

Question

I recently loaded Creator 2009 (along with SP3) and have had very little success with ripping. If I do get it to work it is only after I have rebooted several times. Even when it does work the performance is very slow.

I have a dual-core 3.4G processor. 2G RAM, correctly sized paging file, WinXP SP3 and I keep up to date with all windows patches. I also have Fix-it utilities as my virus scan software. In addition I have a wide variety of other programs loaded on my system that run as services ( e.g. iTunes, Norton Ghost).

Based on what I have seen in other threads it appears that .net framework 3.5 SP1 may be part of the problem, but having that SP installed is not an option since I'm also a Visual Studio 2008 developer.

Is this a problem that others have seen? Are there any known solutions? So far I'm very disappointed that I spent the money to buy Creator 2009 to replace Easy CD Creator 7 which had been working find and delivered excellent performance, but which is now several years old and I decided it was time to upgrade to a current release. If I cannot solve this problem then I'll need to revert to the older version, but in that case I just wasted my money purchasing the most current release.

2 answers to this question

No, never heard of any problem with 2009 and Ripping… I do it all the time on 2 XP computers.

The .NET 3.5 SP1 is only a problem for installing. – delete it when installing, install and apply Roxio's SP3 and it will update .NET 3.5 to SP1.

Roxio's SP3 came out in January 09, so don't confuse any fuss about .NET in postings prior to the fix. Actually it was fixed in SP2 of December 08.

There are 3 programs that Rip, being a programmer I would have thought you would have supplied the program name!