• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 16 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

error when copying DVD's

volt12

Question

Hi everybody! I am a newbie here and I am having a problem using the Disc Copy function - it is intermittent for me. Most of the time it works, but sometimes it reads my source disk and then I get the error message:

"Unrecovered read error - medium error." [03/11/00]

I am copying DVD's of home movies that I have made with another computer. Like I said, 4 times out of 5, it will copy the material, but every once in a while, I get the above message. I have a Gateway P4 with 512 MB of RAM and my burner is a Mad Dog Multimedia MegaStor™ External DVD Drive (MD-16X3DVD9-8XE). I keep the source disc in my Gateway drive and use Maxell DVD-R 4.7GB 16X media in the Mad Dog drive.

Can somebody please help me with this? I just want to know why I can't make copies of all of my home DVD movies to pass along to my family members.

Thank you very much!

8 answers to this question

Guest mlpasley

Can you give a little more information, please?

Do you get this error message in the middle of copying the same DVD several times? ie. # 4 of 5 copies

Or do you get this error message when you try to copy one particular DVD? Are you using the same type of DVD each time (ie. off the same spindle)?

Or is something else happening?

Hi - it is with two of my DVD's that I had burned previously. The previously burned DVD's are all TDK DVD-R's 2X. All new media that I am copying to is the Maxell DVD-R 16X. I have rebooted in between these two discs, and still get the error message. Do you think there is a problem with the original disc (maybe a scratch or something)? They play fine in both my PC and stand-alone player.

Thanks for your help!

Guest mlpasley