• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 4 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

DVD plays . . . then doesn't

golinux

Question

I have two DVD players (one a recorder) connected to my TV. Both are pretty new as I'm kinda new to the DVD world.

Why would disks created with DVD Builder play fine one day then throw up a disk error the next? This is just happening on one player. Should I return it and try another or am I missing something basic?

This happened a week or so ago with another DVD and I burned a new disk which then worked fine. But having to reburn disks is a real drag. Why are the disks getting nuked?? Any ideas what's going on?

I am burning from an ISO image BTW.

OMG, that's more info than I can process! Makes me want to unplug and head for the nearest cave!!! Why does this have to be soooo complicated . . .

That's what you get for living in Tech Heavy Austin. :D Now if you were in Houston (where I am), things would be simplier. Perhaps you have a friend that would help - Michael Dell? :huh: Sorry, I couldn't resist. :)

That's what you get for living in Tech Heavy Austin. :D Now if you were in Houston (where I am), things would be simplier. Perhaps you have a friend that would help - Michael Dell? :huh: Sorry, I couldn't resist. :)
Hey, ya know Houston is probably worse!! I'm counting on peak oil and economic collapse to finally burst the bubble of techno/gizmo madness and get us all out in the fields growing food to survive. :D The sooner the better, I say!!

There may be a problem with the discs...(I've asked for advice in the past about disc manufacturers and who's best...been told Verbatim), but I also feel that part of the problem could be the manufacturer of the player.

I've had problems in the past with certain players not even being able to play commercial discs reliably, let alone burned ones. Personally, when I see printing on the box of a player state it can play DVD-R+R...it should live up to that.