Jump to content
  • Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 10 Guests (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online
  • 0

Adding files to a Cd-Rw at a later time


Phil B.
 Share

Question

Hi,

 

I burned a data file to a CD-RW this morning. This evening I wanted to add some other files to the same CD-RW and wasn't able to. Message I receive.is:

 

"The disk you have inserted is not blank. Would you like to erase it now?

WARNING All data will be permanently erased."

 

When I select "no" I get the following:

 

"Please insert a blank or rewritable disk in the drive."

 

When I select OK I get the first message again.

 

Is the Cd being closed out after I write the first file and how to I correct this?

 

Any help appreciated.

 

Thanks.

 

Phil B.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Hi,

 

I burned a data file to a CD-RW this morning. This evening I wanted to add some other files to the same CD-RW and wasn't able to. Message I receive.is:

 

"The disk you have inserted is not blank. Would you like to erase it now?

WARNING All data will be permanently erased."

 

When I select "no" I get the following:

 

"Please insert a blank or rewritable disk in the drive."

 

When I select OK I get the first message again.

 

Is the Cd being closed out after I write the first file and how to I correct this?

 

Any help appreciated.

 

Thanks.

 

Phil B.

 

What application did you use to create this disc.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Roxio 2009 with Vista OS

 

What application in the Roxio did you use, (was it Creator Classic).

Also, there is no Roxio 2009, there is EMC 9 and Creator 2009, which do you have. You have posted your question in the Creator 2010 forum, so it gets a bit confusing what you really have.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Sorry for the confusion as I am not sure what I have. The box, user guide and program CD are titled "Easy Media Creator 10 Suite". When I bring up the program it shows EMC 9 which is what I used.

 

If I am in the wrong forum I will post to the 2009 forum.

 

Thanks.

 

Phil B.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Sorry for the confusion as I am not sure what I have. The box, user guide and program CD are titled "Easy Media Creator 10 Suite". When I bring up the program it shows EMC 9 which is what I used.

 

If I am in the wrong forum I will post to the 2009 forum.

 

Thanks.

 

Phil B.

 

You don't want to post to the Creator 2009 forum, because you have Easy Media Creator 10. Where did you get the software?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Bought the software from Newegg.com in Feb 2008. Think I may have found the cause of why EMC 2009 was opened. Seems that Roxio Creator DE was pre installed when I bought the PC. from Dell. I was using the shortcut to this software. I have uninstalled Roxio Creator DE and will use EMC 10. Doubt if this will correct the problem.

 

Thanks for the help and for moving the thread.

 

Phil B.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Bought the software from Newegg.com in Feb 2008. Think I may have found the cause of why EMC 2009 was opened. Seems that Roxio Creator DE was pre installed when I bought the PC. from Dell. I was using the shortcut to this software. I have uninstalled Roxio Creator DE and will use EMC 10. Doubt if this will correct the problem.

 

Thanks for the help and for moving the thread.

 

Phil B.

No matter which Version you have, you have some basic confusion.

 

RW does NOT mean "like a floppy", it means you can erase the entire disc and start over. It is useful for testing things (if it works, you can re-do it ro R media), but NOT reliable for long-term storage. More info here:

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=12382

 

You are also assuming that "like a floppy" it it formatated. Actually, Packet-Writing was dropped after EMC 9, so it is possible it is incuded in your cut-down OEM [Original Equipment Mfgr] Version from Dell. It is NOT in EMC 10, Creator 2009 or 2010.

 

However, if you want to use the HIGHLY UNRELIABLE method of back-up, Packet-Writing, it is built into Vista. Maybe it is less unreliable. If you try it and lose your data, let us know so we have some documentation.

 

Lynn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Same problem using EMC 10. Somehow the CD is being finalized and won't let you add additional files.

Any help appreciated. Thanks.

 

Phil B.

 

Were getting there, would you answer the first question that was asked in post #4, and some details of how you are creating the cd, step by step is good.

 

If you use Creator classic:

post-68-1257179125.png

Edited by ogdens
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

In response to question in Post #4. I used EMC 2009 to create the CD.

 

Step by step using EMC 10

Opened EMC 2010

Selected data disk, then add data, add files

Added file I wanted to burn and clicked burn icon in lower right

After burning I closed all open windows.

Check Cd to insure the file had been burned

Checked properties of file on CD and it showed read only attribute checked.

 

Later

 

Opened EMC 2010 again & selected data disk then add data, add files

Added new file and inserted CD-RW with previous file burned.

Selected burn Icon in lower right and received the following

 

"The disk you have inserted is not blank. Would you like to erase it now?

WARNING All data will be permanently erased."

 

When I select "no" I get the following:

 

"Please insert a blank or rewritable disk in the drive."

 

When I select OK I get the first message again

 

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

1. Lets get the product verbiage straight to avoid further confusion. EMC 10 is NOT the same as EMC 2010. You have "EMC10" correct.

2. It seems you have used Roxio Data Central to burn the data on a CDRW disc. You would want to use "Creator Classic" as indicated by "ogdens. Choosing "Burn Data Disc - Advanced" should take you to Creator Classic. Then follow the steps listed above.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
In response to question in Post #4. I used EMC 2009 to create the CD.

 

Step by step using EMC 10

Opened EMC 2010

Selected data disk, then add data, add files

Added file I wanted to burn and clicked burn icon in lower right

After burning I closed all open windows.

Check Cd to insure the file had been burned

Checked properties of file on CD and it showed read only attribute checked.

 

Later

 

Opened EMC 2010 again & selected data disk then add data, add files

Added new file and inserted CD-RW with previous file burned.

Selected burn Icon in lower right and received the following

 

"The disk you have inserted is not blank. Would you like to erase it now?

WARNING All data will be permanently erased."

 

When I select "no" I get the following:

 

"Please insert a blank or rewritable disk in the drive."

 

When I select OK I get the first message again

 

In order to later add more data to a disc, the "read only" attribute has to be left unchecked. Having the attribute checked when burning closes the disc and no further data can be added.

 

PLease stop referring to Roxio Creator 2010 as "EMC 2010" - there is no such program suite as "EMC 2010"

Edited by myguggi
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
In order to later add more data to a disc, the "read only" attribute has to be left unchecked. Having the attribute checked when burning closes the disc and no further data can be added.

 

PLease stop referring to Roxio Creator 2010 as "EMC 2010" - there is no such program suite as "EMC 2010"

 

 

Meant EMC 10 which came in Easy Media Creator 10 suite not EMC 2010. How can I stop the "read only" attribute from being checked when burning CD-RW?

 

Thanks.

 

Phil B.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Meant EMC 10 which came in Easy Media Creator 10 suite not EMC 2010. How can I stop the "read only" attribute from being checked when burning CD-RW?

 

Thanks.

 

Phil B.

 

In Creator Classic, after you click on the Burn button, click on the Burn Options button, and clear the box to the left of Read-Only Disc.

post-81-1257197727.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...