Newbie needs some pointers

cmontana

Question

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this whole DVD authoring thing. I've read quite a few postings here and was wondering if someone might be able point me in the right direction. I just installed EMC 8 and the 8.05 update.

What I'd like to know is; what is a good, basic process for capturing video data with the intent of burning home-movie DVDs? Specifically, I interested in the application settings that are best suited for this task (i.e., import video as DV-AVI format, etc.).

Also, I'd like to know (in your opinion) what the basic system requirements are for good process performance. I will being recording video with a Samsung SC-D5000 mini DV camcorder. The computer I have available for data capture and editing is a Dell Dimension 4600 with 80GB HDD, 2.8 Mhz CPU, four USB 2.0 ports, one 1394 port, NVIDIA GeForce FX5200 graphjcs card, Creative SB Audigy 2 sound card, and 17-inch flat screen (Dell E176FP) monitor.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

7 answers to this question

That's a pretty open ended question. What version of EMC 8 do you have? Essentials, Platinum (standard) or Deluxe? Much of what you are asking may be dictated by your equipment's capabilities. Buy some RW discs and experiment. Do not rely on any of the previews to show you what you will see on a burned DVD on your home system.

If you have the disc free space (an 80 gig drive is not real large for video work.,

Does that camera capture to miniDV tapes or directly to disc? If tapes, use the ILink (firewire) connection.

Probably the AVI capture will be your best bet but you may not have enough hard drive space for that (how much of that 80 gigs do you have free). If not, just use mpg2.

Your system is above minimums but make sure that all your drivers are updated and that your burner has been flashed to the latest firmware. You should be able to get all of the off Dell;s support site.

Hi Everyone,