• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 13 Guests (See full list)

There are no registered users currently online

Sign in to follow this  
Donnie Loeffler

burn audio CD from FLAC w/ T8?

Question

Hi Roxy folks,

I'm new to MAC from PC. I just purchased a "new" version of Toast 8. I've got some FLAC discs that I would like to burn to standard Audio CD. Everytime I simply drag and drop the FLAC Files into Toast I get some kind of "not supported" prompt. Then after I get it into and burn the CD there is no sound when played back on the CD or after the CD has been ejected and it's still on the screen. The CD has indexes , Total Time, scrolls, but no music.

I used to use Easy CD creator when I had my PC , it worked fine for the most part, but then the HD would get clogged by so many files form maybe FLAC and .shn staying in the regestries, etc. The files didn't really "delete" off the HD per se. So I thought I would use a MAC and if need be restore the computer if this happens on the MAC. However, I don't see this version of Toast being very successful for me. I suppose I will need a "lossless converter" program mostly - why did I buy this? Also, I'd like to convert my DATs to CDR using Toast , I hope it will handle my simple Edirol interface as well. But, one thing at a time.

Any ideas of what I'm doing wrong, or will NOT Toast burn the audio CD directly from FLAC? Or is possible my FLAC sources are bad, but I don't think so because everyone of them is doing this? The 1st and 2nd attempt locked up the computer , the 3rd burn attempt gave me only a disc with no music?

thanks for any help or ideas in advance,

Donnie L.

7 answers to this question