• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 14 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Reducing Video Quality

carudy

Question

I am trying to reduce file size and am not very concerned about video quality. How can I convert HD video to something less space-consuming. I have tried to convert for the iPhone putting the slider all the way to the small file size end. It turned a 25MB file into a 511MB file, according the the file information in Windows 7. Help.

10 answers to this question

I am trying to reduce file size and am not very concerned about video quality. How can I convert HD video to something less space-consuming. I have tried to convert for the iPhone putting the slider all the way to the small file size end. It turned a 25MB file into a 511MB file, according the the file information in Windows 7. Help.

What is the Length of the movie?

What is your final goal?

What is the Length of the movie?

What is your final goal?

I am an instructor and I have a set of 5 min (approximately) student presentations. So, while I am not concerned about quality, so long as they can see and hear themselves, I cannot reduce the time. I would love to be able to send each student a file via email.

Thanks!

I am an instructor and I have a set of 5 min (approximately) student presentations. So, while I am not concerned about quality, so long as they can see and hear themselves, I cannot reduce the time. I would love to be able to send each student a file via email.

Thanks!

You still have not provided the LENGTH of the file and the Target Value and Format you are looking for…

You may not know the latter so here are some guidelines. MOV formats can be read by iPod’s and QuickTime.

MPEG & WMV files would work on a PC.

Are you considering breaking the clips apart for each student?

I may not be able to do any testing today but anyone can give it a look if you will provide the key data.