roxio freeze ups

chiefjoe

Question

I am new to ROXIO CREATOR PRO. When I load a movie to edit the systems freezes up and the ability to edit is lost. Originally I had a marginal system to use. I purchased a new dual processor with 6 GB of DDR3 memory and it still is not up to the task. I installed SP2 and it still bogs down. The file is hours long. I position the time line to 8 minutes (the first place I need to edit) and I have to wait for half an hour for it to settle down and when I try to resume work the sound functions but the video is froze.

ANY IDEAS????

THANK YOU!!!!

11 answers to this question

Do you have Creator 2010 or Easy Media Creator 10? There is a huge difference between those and until we know which, we can't help a lot.

Also what OS are you using on the new machine, what is the source of the video - a lot more information is needed

I am new to ROXIO CREATOR PRO. When I load a movie to edit the systems freezes up and the ability to edit is lost. Originally I had a marginal system to use. I purchased a new dual processor with 6 GB of DDR3 memory and it still is not up to the task. I installed SP2 and it still bogs down. The file is hours long. I position the time line to 8 minutes (the first place I need to edit) and I have to wait for half an hour for it to settle down and when I try to resume work the sound functions but the video is froze.

ANY IDEAS????

THANK YOU!!!!

What do you mean by "the file is hours" long? Where did the file come from? Editing very long videos will often cause the program to seemingly hang. The video has to be first analyzed before you can do anything with it. What video card or graphics adaptor do you have? How much free space on your hard drive?

What do you mean by "the file is hours" long? - Shortest file in use is 105 minutes (1 hour 45 minutes)

Where did the file come from? - As stated above, the files come from a Nikon Video Camera