Jump to content
  • Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 16 Guests (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online
  • 0

Coverted/edited Video Lost


SecretSquirrel
 Share

Question

Hi, I purchased & downloaded Toast 10 Titanium today, I watched some of the instructional videos on the Roxio site to try to figure out how to use it as i am new to video editing.

 

I have eyetv, i found to upload content to utube i needed to convert & of course wanted to edit the video also, i now have toast 10.

 

I have figured out how to convert, so that the file went to utube, upload was successful.

a little pixel problem in fast movement but fine, sound good.

 

so then next step, edit my tv content, like adverts n things. I worked out how to do that, but when i press save. It doesn't duplicate in the video file so i can delete the original and have an edited version.

 

It remains the same, with showing the edits i want, but not edited? The instruction video has a different type of drop down box to the one i have and i have the 10.0.7 version.

 

would be nice if someone could help me, guide me a long lol, thanks kindly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

This is the first test subject, i recorded a couple of minutes of tv,

 

This is the test Subject.

 

so i went back to the original file and went to cut out the advert, it shows its done but ...

even when you play the video, it shows in the bar the edits are in place.

 

The file was not duplicated into the same place where you were asked to insert the video for edit.

when you click save, it said a second file would appear and you then delete the first to keep the edit version, then click the red button to complete the video.

so .. confused lol

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

This is the first test subject, i recorded a couple of minutes of tv,

 

This is the test Subject.

 

so i went back to the original file and went to cut out the advert, it shows its done but ...

even when you play the video, it shows in the bar the edits are in place.

 

The file was not duplicated into the same place where you were asked to insert the video for edit.

when you click save, it said a second file would appear and you then delete the first to keep the edit version, then click the red button to complete the video.

so .. confused lol

I'm not entirely clear what you're asking. The Toast Video Player (& editor) is a place to mark segments you want deleted in the exported video file or the video DVD you are trying to create. When you choose Save it only saves the location of those marks and does not modify the source video file. Toast knows to skip past those marked segments when you complete your Toast project. (However, there seem to be some problems I've seen where Toast is stopping the export or conversion when it gets to an edit point and doesn't continue to the end. Beware this might happen to you, too).

 

You can edit EyeTV captured video in EyeTV itself. In this case the file gets written without the marked content to replace the original. So Toast's editor is what an be called non-destructive editing and EyeTV's is destructive in that the original is gone. Sometimes one is preferable over the other.

 

You may know that you don't need EyeTV to record YouTube video. That is done with the Web Video option in the Toast Media Browser. In that case the edit window looks different because it isn't in a different application but it is the same concept.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...