• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 18 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Media Import won't recognise home DVD footage

Cargo

Question

Hello - I am a newbie to EMC 8. After I finalised my home DVD on my Sony Handycam I tried to edit it in EMC 8 but although it plays fine, Media Import does not recognise the footage as video - it just keeps reverting to 'Select a device or source to import from' when I select 'video'. It will import it if I select 'photo' - but then it doesn't work.

I wasted 6 hours yesterday trying to sort this out! I am sure the answer is out there somewhere.

Help please. :)

Cargo

7 answers to this question

This seems like it could be a common problem. There's three threads right now about it:

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=5887

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=6883

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=6886

To sum up (correct me if I'm wrong):

Using Roxio Media Import to import a finalized DVD created with a set top DVD recorder isn't working very often.

The DVD will play/is watchable in the drive using a typical DVD viewing program

The DVD is recognized and the folders (i.e. Video_TS) can be explored outside RMI

There isn't necessarily an error code or anything saying that the media is unacceptable, just a blank box where the message would be (under the drop down menu that says choose the location of the media)

Was anyone able to import anything at all? It actually worked for the first DVD for me which makes this twice as frustrating.

Sorry for the duplicates but I thought if we all work together we might figure this one out...

This seems like it could be a common problem. There's three threads right now about it:

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=5887

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=6883

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=6886

To sum up (correct me if I'm wrong):