• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 16 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

How Can Unwanted Portions of a Video Clip Be Removed?

John

Question

I'm new to video editing in general and EMC in particular, so please bear with me. I'm running EMC8 build 805B56B, a full boxed retail version, so I would expect it to support all the features of the product.

I've captured a couple of hours of video from a VHS tape, and now I'd like to remove unwanted portions of it. (I'm sure this is a common task, say, for editing out commercials from video captured from TV.) It appears that the way to do this is to identify scenes in the clip and then reassemble the clip using only the scenes I want. But as has been noted at length in other posts, there is no capability for manually marking scenes in this version, even though the help file says it exists. Only automatic scene marking is offered. And that, of course, doesn't accurately isolate the scenes I want to remove.

Is there a better way to edit out the portions of video I don't want? Am I missing the method for marking scenes?

I'm guessing that this is only the beginning of my bewilderment and frustration with this product, yes?

Thanks in advance.

- John

6 answers to this question

I have Both VERSIONS and yes, I can do what I described above in both versions. Making a 'cut' is the only way to 'manually' define a 'scene boundary'. If you are in MyDVD, you are using the wrong application. I don't think I can be much clearer.

Must be a real slow day.......

Yes, this works but only until VideoWave locks up.