• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 12 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Options For Saving Files

Enlighten_me

Question

I am just starting to learn how to convert my 25 year old VHS tapes to DVD and finding the online help is only useful if you have a basic understanding of the process to begin with. Here is what I need to know to before proceeding further.

1) When recording a 2 hour VHS tape to the My_Video folder, a large My_Video.mpg file is created (>7 gigs). It appear that this is the only format available when recording from the orignal VHS tape for the first time to then begin editing it. Is this correct, and is this mpg file an MPG2 file or MPG4, or in some other mpg format? It appears to be a different size file than the mpg creating by Exporting to "Computer" or "Archiving", though these 2 exported files are the exact same size and larger that the original recording when using the default settings for Computer (there are no choices for archiving). In fact I cannot see any difference between exporting to Computer vs. Archive.

2) After burning a DVD, I want to also save the mpg file(s) for future use to be able to send to other family members in the future if requested. When I save the edited vidio clip to the "Computer" option it gives me multiple choice of what to do. I want to save the best quality movie files possible, but need to know when I am overkilling on the settings. by placing them too high, espcially if it does not improve the quality of the final home movie on DVD (to be watched on a 60 inch plasma TV). I also want to be able to save the data to an external hard drive in case I want to burn future DVD's for other family memebers.