• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 12 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Toast 10 Chapter Menus

uufilms

Question

Hi, all,

I'm new to Toast - having moved here as my work has evolved from SD to HD. I am a long-time FCP user and was quite happy with DVD Studio Pro, except, of course, it doesn't do Blu-Ray. But the menus in DVDSP are fantastic - film clip backgrounds, audio, automatically picking up FCP chapter markers, etc.

My first look at Toast 10 - and subsequently reading through this forum and others - tells me that Toast does not do even a half-way decent job of menu authoring. Can anybody tell me if I am missing something important? I am bringing over a 63-minute film as H.264 from Compressor. The film has 8 Chapter markers embedded in it, including the one at time zero. How close to a good DVDSP menu can I come in Toast?

Thanks for any help,

Ron

3 answers to this question

Toast's menus are very basic. There is a title menu and an optional scene menu. The title menu can have text descriptions along with the thumbnail buttons but the scene menu is just the thumbnail selected by Toast at the start of each chapter. You can select the thumbnail image for the title buttons but not the scene buttons. If you choose to have scene menus then selecting a title menu on the finished disc opens a scene menu window in which the scene must be selected before the video begins playing. There is an option to have the disc autoplay without first loading the menu.

The menu background can be changed. You can add your own background. The number of titles per page can be changed. To change the fonts you simply change the menu style to one that has a font you like (and then add your own background).

Toast has always had minimal menus.

Hi, all,